Painting Away on a Summer Day.

After the latest front went through, the weather has cooled somewhat, but still no rain.  I picked another gallon of blackberries yesterday in 70 degree weather so I stayed relatively comfortable in the two hours I was out.  I have been keeping a little bit of a wary eye as I have been picking.  Our DNR finally admitted a while ago that there were cougars in the central part of the state and my brother-in-law thought he saw one early one morning at the bottom of our joint driveway.  I am not particularly worried because I pick in an open area and there are calves in the vicinity which should be more appetizing. And then there are the deer and fawns.  As I type this, there is a doe drinking in the shallow end of the pond.

It’s red again

I wanted to do a companion piece to the last architectural as I have been doing these in pairs. This entailed something predominantly red again. I looked through the Utah photos and came up with this one.  The central two buildings were basically as presented, but I kind of made up the left and right sides.  I did half of the inking one day and then finished the inking and watercolor today.  I think it is basically finished at this point.  I may change my mind tomorrow but once a gain I don’t want to overdo it.  I like the balance of the reds, but I may want to do a little bit more with the purple and the green.  I am not sure that the values of the tree are quite where I want them.  A little bit of overnight distance will tell.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 09:25:44

    More blackberries, yay! Love this! And I like it without the teal. This seems to be a perfect balance of color. The purple shadow from the tree is so great!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 09:34:34

    Thanks Cindy. I haven’t looked at it yet this morning to decide if I want to do any more. Mostly I think I will be looking at the greens. And my hands are rather ripped up from the berries. One of the hazards of picking I guess.

    Reply

  3. Linda Halcomb
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 17:07:26

    I like the way you are using primary colors, and especially red, in these works of art. Fun, charming and full of energy.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 19:45:48

    I am having fun too. And the good thing is I like them even better when looking at the actual painting. I don’t feel that my photography is quite good enough. However I can only handle one frustrating thing at a time and picture taking is losing out right now. I plan on taking a few week night course in photoshop in the fall so perhaps I can improve at least that.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 14:04:57

    The sky in this really caught my eye and set the tone for the rest of it. I want to walk along the sidewalk, here in this one. Good job!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 15:12:35

    I did like the sky in this too. Just a wash I made up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

