Polly parrot

Parrot

I’ve had it in mind lately to paint a brightly colored bird and I thought I remembered a photo of one amongst the other things when I last was looking through the old box file.  Sure enough I found an old picture of a parrot nestled under B for birds.  I liked the scarlet reds and the vivid blues of this parrot.  It hardly seemed like a possible combination for a real bird, but there it is.

I went the route of the frisket/spritzed ink, but this time I held a little back on the water in order not to muddy the overlayed colors too much.  I played with the watercolor over two days and am fairly satisfied with it.  I am less satisfied with the inking.  There seems to be a very fine line between too much spritzing and a muddy, gray result and too little spritzing and too sharp of lines.

In this case, I think I erred in the direction of too little spritzing.  The feather lines seem to be too delineated.  I wanted to show more the suggestion of feathers rather than the actual feathers themselves, but that is not quite what has happened.  I am not totally dissatisfied with the outcome, because I do like the colors but, like the blue abstract floral, it’s not quite what I wanted.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Halcomb
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 17:09:43

    I like the color and when you are working with watercolor and ink in combination, you are probably better off to under spritz.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 19:42:32

    Thanks for the comment, Linda. It’s one of those things that I decide after the damage is done that I perhaps should have gone about it in another way. LOL I think you are right though. The more color I have, the less I want it muddied with the spritzing. I like it in the the animals where I used only a little bit of color.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

