I woke last night to the sound of thunder….

How far off I sat and wondered…..  Bob Seger inspired no doubt, but I really did.  I lay awake hoping it would come closer and finally it did for a short five-minute shower.  Then the thunder moved off and I thought “Rain, come back Rain.”  And it did.  About fifteen minutes later the lightning and loud thunder returned along with the rain.  It showered hard and then gently, on and off for about twenty-five minutes.  I finally went back to sleep after it was over, hoping we had gotten some measurable amount.  When I went to look at the rain gauge this morning it said 3/4″ – more than we have had in the last month and a half total.  It was a good rain, not too much at one time so it had a chance to soak in.  There were no puddles left this morning which shows how dry it has been.

Blue abstract floral

I didn’t have time for an involved painting this week so I thought I’d take one of the small leftover pieces of board and play in blue on it.  I began by laying down some of the teal that I have used in the latest architecturals in a basic floral pattern.  Then I threw on the apple and the forest greens.  Not quite what I wanted.  I decided to delineate the floral patterns with a little bit of ink from the nib pen.  Still not quite what I wanted, so I went on to the purple.  Then I went back and layered more of each color.   Still not quite what I wanted.  That’s where it is right now.  Still not quite what I wanted.  I have let it sit for the last day and a half, hoping for some more inspiration.  It seems too unfocused at this point so I am thinking of adding more ink.  We’ll see if that helps.  Otherwise it may end up being a piece for the circular file.  If you don’t do one of those at least every once in a while, I think it is safe to say you are limiting the expansion of your artistic vision.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 13:32:20

    Love the blues, Ruth and SO happy for your rain at last. Your garden must be smiling.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 13:56:30

    I think it looks really great! I think it’s nice to have a break from all the red and do all cool colors. It’s not as crisp as your architectural stuff of course, but I think it’s really cool as is. I actually like it just the way it is.

    Hooray for your rain! We’re due for another week of 90+ degrees, yuck (Chicago area). But we have had a bit of rain. In fact on Friday we had the most spectacular clouds in the sky and I wish I’d taken a picture. Which reminds me! I’m sure there are pictures online so I am going to go find some. 😉

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 01, 2012 @ 14:49:57

      Thanks Cindy. I need to do these things occasionally to break up my obsession with red and green. And as I said, if you don’t do something for the circular file once in a while, you aren’t using your creativity enough.

      Yes, we are due for 90’s again this week too. I keep track of the Chicago area as I grew up in Chicago Heights, a south suburb, so you have my sympathy.

      Reply

  3. Karen
    Jul 01, 2012 @ 14:25:52

    Maybe a bit more ink here and there to fill in the voids but I really like this! I think a design like this would be really nice for a set of notecards.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 01, 2012 @ 14:51:44

      Karen, I think I will add some ink tomorrow as we have company today. I am thinking maybe bookmarks to go along with the red flower one I did about a year ago.

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 14:29:01

    I love your last sentence in this post, Ruth. Sometimes we don’t know until weeks later why we explored possibilities in any painting. I’d hang onto this piece, because, at some point, you will know what you gained from it and you will have that record of your discoveries in paint. I am drawn to the blues and the patterning in this.

    Reply

  5. ruthsartwork
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 17:50:25

    Thanks Leslie. I know for myself that I like to play it safe. It used discourage me to make something that ended up in the circular file. Now I have a better attitude, I think, and can just let the experiment go. I know I should explore the blues more mostly because I don’t particularly like them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

