Southwestern Streetscape 2

I picked out two southwestern cityscapes before I started the last one so I was able to dive right in this time.  Like the last one, I changed  a few things to suit what I wanted to do, but not as much for this as for the last.  It was more on the order of some building ornamental detail rather than structural, but I wanted a little bit more embellishment.  I am enjoying creating these in pairs, each set with a little bit of a difference in theme and/or color from the others.  I think it helps keep me from getting too locked in for these experimental pieces.

Southwestern abstract building 2

This time I started with the teal color and then moved into the reds and yellows.  I once again worked on it for three sessions, trying to get the combination of colors right.  I am not one much for blues, but I do find this teal color quite appealing.  I wanted the viewer to se the teal first in this pair, rather than the reds and purples.  The bumped-out windows proved to be a slight problem that I am not quite sure I have addressed fully.  I wanted them to give a little depth to the painting, but I didn’t want to leave the roof tops brown.  That color in the pallet didn’t seem right.  I toned it down with a little purple and was happier with that.  I am still toying with the idea of more color on them, but have decided to let them sit for another day or two to decide.  Sometimes I just don’t know when to quit.  There is a little bit of teal on them that may not quite show up in the photo.

I layed back with the red this time around because it is so easy for it to overpower the other colors.  I think that there is actually a little bit more yellow.  All in all it matches up well with the first  so I might just leave it alone.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 14:03:01

    The embellishment really makes a difference! Looks so great with all the windows and awnings and plant boxes and columns. And the colors are great! Still love the teal. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:02:57

    Thanks Cindy. I still love the teal too. I had to make a second batch and I think it matched well.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 17:36:23

    I like both of your Southwestern streetscapes, Ruth. This one really does it for me! The cool colors are perfect for the theme and the shapes in this go together so very well. I think you achieved the depth with the windows that you were searching for, also. Love this!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 19:00:20

    I like these too, Leslie. Thanks. They actually are more engaging than the photos. I am debating whether to do any more in this vein for a while. I’m feeling the itch to do something else after these 8. I just haven’t decided what yet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

