Architectural whimsy

The street scape commission for the dog walker website that I did a few months ago has been the inspiration for the last six abstract architectural drawings.  At the time I had it in the back of my mind that it would be interesting to add loose, flowing watercolors over the buildings.  I couldn’t experiment on the commissioned piece of course, so I went on the current excursion of the abstract in my own pieces.  So far I have enjoyed the process and have seen a progression in the use of color.  I wanted to try something with a bit more whimsy, so I took a small piece of leftover art board and painted this piece.

Architectural whimsy

I was looking for a bit more of a cartoonish quality, so I inked in the houses a little cock-eyed and then added a figure and her dog.  I took up the brushes and painted away using the same basic palette  as before.  It has taken my eyes a little bit of time to adjust to the whimsical style, but on the whole, I like it.

On the black raspberry front, I have been able to pick a lot more than I thought would be possible this time around.  Even after the birds have taken their share, I think I’ve gotten about 1.5 gallons. I froze about 1/2 gallon, gave away and eaten about 1/2 gallon, and I still have about 1/2 gallon in the refrigerator.  I will probably go out at least one more time since I found two patches with large berries and lots of them.  It is amazing how fast the containers fill up when the berries are decent size and there are multiple ripe ones on the same canes.  The blackberry front is looking good.  The only question now is if we get enough rain to plump them  instead of having them just wither on the cane.  I am already watering my flower beds and shrubs.  I wish it would rain for a week at this point.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 22:18:14

    Oh very cute style! And the way you’ve done more coverage with color looks a bit like stained glass. Very cool! (Maybe be careful that the colors don’t look like fire though! These don’t but I could see how they could.) Hooray for the blackberry success! I told my friend at work we have to find a place to pick some.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 11:15:17

    I love your idea of the dog walker series! This reminds me of walking my own dogs in my neighborhood.

    Reply

  3. DJ
    Jun 23, 2012 @ 14:50:48

    Ruth, what a nice surprise to hear from you! 🙂 I feel so far away (okay, I know I am…but still) and life is so different now! Your work is very charming!! I love the whimsy of this piece! What a wonderful direction your work has gone to 🙂 I’ll have to remember to stop by again. – Your Etsy Pal, Debi

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 24, 2012 @ 11:48:14

      Debi, it’s so nice to hear from you too. I’m glad my comment got through to you. Sometimes it’s hard to tell. Since you are back up and blogging, I will be sure to visit and comment more often. I know how much those little things mean. LOL Have a wonderful time while you are there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

