An abstract Tudor architectural watercolor

I have enjoyed doing the abstract streetscapes in the last few weeks, so I decided to do a small abstract Tudor entryway.  I did most of it yesterday and then made a few adjustments today.  This is on the small side at 4×6.

Abstract Tudor watercolor

I quickly penciled in the drawing and then inked it.  One aspect that I appreciate of this style is how quickly I can pencil out the architecture since I am not so concerned with portrait exactitude.  Sometimes, however, it goes too quickly because I failed this time to remember to take a picture of the black and white.  Oh well, without the detail, it is not quite as interesting to look at as some of the pastels and I tend to achieve balance in these pieces with the watercolor instead of the ink.  I have been into the reds lately and this is no exception.  Part of what I did today is add more reds and purples to add a definition that a night’s sleep made me see.  Overall, I am happy with it. 

I plan to do one more so there is a matched pair.  I have already pulled out one to do.  I will then be at 100 listings in my Etsy shop – a major goal.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    May 30, 2012 @ 18:03:54

    I like this a lot, Ruth. I really LOVE what you’ve done with the roof/sky.

    Reply

  2. Cindy D.
    May 30, 2012 @ 18:18:17

    (Eek, I hope I didn’t post half a comment. Sometimes comment sections just trip me up or I type too fast and hit crazy keys!) In any case, I like this little one. The slightly less formal lines are nice and the watercolor really does look neat on your work!

    It’s so funny you mention your 100 item goal at Etsy. I have been in the 90s for ages and for some reason I am just not posting the last few things I need (because I do have things I could post!) Maybe I’m worried about making a new goal. 😉

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 31, 2012 @ 10:28:59

      Cindy the post came through fine – I think – since I can’t see what you wrote on your end. LOL I like the little one too. I am sure these have not been quite as wildly colored as you suggested I try, but it is pretty over the edge for me.

      Getting to 100 at my etsy store seemed like an impossible goal in the beginning, but now I’m brushing up to it. Then I guess the goal will be to actually SELL more. I’m not so great on the marketing side yet.

      Reply

  3. incidentallearner
    May 30, 2012 @ 20:42:10

    Lovely!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 31, 2012 @ 10:20:59

    Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 06:28:20

    Ruth, the complementary colors make this lively and interesting. I really like your architectural work – abstract or realistic. I envy your talent!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 08:34:46

    Thanks, Linda. I’m having fun with these too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

