Back in the studio at last

Palm tree

After a period of time away, I am back in the studio and onto my blog again. I did have a good reason for my absence though – my son got married to a wonderful woman last weekend at our home so I had a lot to do around here for the last several weeks.  The house is straightened and the laundry is finally done, so I wanted to do something quick and easy to get back into the swing of things.  I liked the reference photo of the little shore bird with his long beak and stilty legs. He is black and white, but I added a little brown in his shading and greenish reeds behind him to liven up the painting a little bit.   I’d like to know what he is but I can’t find him in my North American bird book.  Perhaps he is an exotic.  I’ll have to look around at my next zoo visit in Indianapolis which I hope is very soon and see if I can identify him.

The palm tree was totally for fun.  I have many photos from Florida with lots of palm trees in them so thought I might try to ink/watercolor one as a quick study.  There are also lots of pictures of exotic flowers which present some opportunities.

All in all I am happy with today’s effort and am ready to get back to serious work again.

Shore bird

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    May 25, 2012 @ 18:15:45

    I like the spontaneous feel and “sparkle” to both of these. Congratulations to your son!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    May 25, 2012 @ 18:27:07

    Thanks, Leslie. After all of the recent excitement, I wanted to do somehting more low key to get back into the swing of things.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 06:32:25

    Really nice, loose work to get you limbered up. Next time you get to Indy let me know maybe we can take a few hours to sketch at the zoo or the art museum (lovely grounds and the new nature park is fun and full of opportunities). Congratualtions on your sons wedding. My youngest daughter will have her first anniversary July 10!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jun 02, 2012 @ 08:41:14

    It was fun to do a little loose work. We are planning a trip to the zoo pretty soon. I have pretty well gone through most of my reference photos. They are all from rolls of film which tells you how long ago I took them. Some of them are 20-25 years old. I like that now I can see right away what I have taken instead of taking dozens of shots and hoping that one or two will come out. I will certainly let you know when we schedule something. We are pretty flexible these days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

