Abstract 4 colored in

 

Colored in

I tried not to think too much on this one.  I just let my eye place the color after the first brushwork with yellow and red.  I used the more intense reds and yellows, like with the last one, but I tried to let it flow a little more.  I find that right now I like the effect.  The second two are rather different from the first two, even though the inking is basically the same.  I think they would make a nice paired set.  I haven’t decided where to go from here, but I certainly have enjoyed making these 4 paintings.  On the whole, I think I like Number 3 the best.  I have found that my computer moniter doesn’t give me the greatest color translations.  The mac does a better job so it is really hard to tell how the pictures are on other computers, but I hope you like them all.  They have kind of grown on me.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. icanbestrongtoo
    May 13, 2012 @ 20:51:35

    Reblogged this on icanbestrongtoo.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    May 13, 2012 @ 21:02:32

    Thanks.

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    May 14, 2012 @ 00:17:58

    Really like this Ruth — the color intensity seems right. I like the juxtaposition of the hot red with the cool purple.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 14, 2012 @ 08:10:31

    Thanks Dix. I have enjoyed doing these….after the first brush stroke is laid down.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    May 14, 2012 @ 11:59:28

    Lovely! Loving the more purples in this one. It seems to be missing just a little something and then I remembered you had those cute little planter boxes in one or two of the others. Or hey! You could park an old-fashioned car on the street in one of these, those are always cool. (Modern cars are too boring). 🙂

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    May 14, 2012 @ 12:08:48

    Yeah, I opted out of the flower boxes this time. What I should have done was put some flowers on the balcony. Senior moment.

    Reply

  7. lindahalcombfineart
    May 18, 2012 @ 06:18:08

    Ruth, this series is very nice. (I also like the ink drawings in and of themselves.) I like the strong reds. They add punch and I think its interesting the way you sort of “step” the colors across the painting. One idea for a next step might be to do earthtones with only a little punch of color? I finding it extremely challenging to make earthtones exciting but it can be done especially with sepia and payne’s gray involved. Just an idea….

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 18, 2012 @ 18:21:01

      That’s a thought Linda. I have tried to have no plan for the the painting and just let the colors lead me. So far I have been pretty happy. I just wish I had thought to put some plants up in the balcony.

      Reply

  8. jcstrong
    May 18, 2012 @ 14:39:34

    I’m so excited love the color in this work…..I guess it’s the transparency and layers of watercolor that make the work so vibrand & rich….

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 18, 2012 @ 18:24:04

      Thanks Joann. I am enjoying it so far. I think I do like the brighter colors of the second two. The first ones are so much softer in tone. I haven’t been able to do much this week because our son is getting married on Saturday!! So probably no art or blog post until first of the week. It’s an exciting time for sure.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

