Abstract Architecture 4

Abstract 4 Pen and InkHere is the latest pen for the abstractly colored architecturals.  I like the way the tall building’s second story windows have the little balcony.  I bet it is only a couple of feet wide, but someone could probably climb out of those tall windows if they wanted to or at least set out a few plants.  What an idea.  I may have to go back and add a bit of greenery up there.  It will depend on whether I think I can add them and have it look natural.  Why didn’t I think of that before?  It would have been a lot easier to do it first off.

The building to its left has quite a complicated set of decorative cross pieces.  It is quite visually exciting and I haven’t decided how to feature it yet.  I don’t want it to get lost.

I think I will stay with the more vivid colors with this one.  I did like the reds after letting it set a while.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nonoymanga
    May 09, 2012 @ 21:28:19

    Very nice lines. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    May 09, 2012 @ 22:07:05

    Thanks, Nonoymanga. I am enjoying a break from all of the detailed work.

    Reply

  3. Jar Of Salt
    May 09, 2012 @ 23:57:01

    Great style and perspective — I wish I could draw this way. Mine are always distorted 🙂

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 10, 2012 @ 06:14:08

    Thanks Jar of salt. That is what rulers are for. LOL I pencil out with a ruler and then just use my eye for the inking. You might try the book “Photographic Perspective Drawing Techniques” by Sid Delmar Leach to give you a leg up if you use reference photos. And then just practice, practice, practice. I still have trouble if there is a lot of distortion in a photo. The eye/brain just tells you if it is off, but not really how to fix it.

    Reply

  5. povsuduvolosy
    May 10, 2012 @ 06:19:30

    Awesome=) Pretty cozy cityscape it is!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    May 10, 2012 @ 07:07:11

    Yes, Povsuduvolosy. I love this little Indiana town. I need to make a few road trips this summer to take some more photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

