Abstract architecture 3

Well, how about this one. I wanted to make more of a statement with the colors so after I put on the yellow, I went with a bolder red.  No going back at this point.  The first two were much more muted in tone and I decided to be a little more aggressive here.  As I look at it over time, sometimes I like it and sometimes I don’t.  It is a very different effort for me.

Abstract building 3 - colored!I think I will do one more like this to make a pair and then move onto something else.  It has been fun experimenting this way as a change of pace, but stylistically I am not ready to move in this direction in a  major way.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asmalltowndad
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:53:00

    Wow I’m loving these!Can’t wait to see what you move on too.

    Reply

  2. Sonya Johnson
    May 02, 2012 @ 10:53:30

    Ruth, I’m really loving this new series of architecture works you’re doing – the abstract use of color provides a really wonderful “energy” to the very representational ink outlines. I bet they are fun-fun to do as well!

    Reply

  3. Cindy D
    May 02, 2012 @ 11:40:23

    I wouldn’t think of it as “moving in a direction”, more a “something else I can do if I want!” I think these colors are fantastic! It just looks really, really great. I wonder what one of the buildings would look like in all dark red. Great job being bold!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 02, 2012 @ 13:41:23

    I kind of have to creep up on that concept and not scare myself to badly. LOL

    Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    May 05, 2012 @ 06:48:46

    Good job of using the red to move your eye across the painting. Nicely done.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    May 05, 2012 @ 16:55:34

    Thanks, Linda. It was hard to put on the first brush stroke, but after that, I just tried to find a balance.

    Reply

  7. lesliepaints
    May 10, 2012 @ 12:49:17

    I think you did an excellent job of placing your reds to lead my eye through the painting, Ruth. I like the bolder look! Offers some contrast and says, “Hey! Look at me!”

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    May 10, 2012 @ 15:24:24

    Thanks Leslie. Your watercolor comments mean a lot. I paln to use the same color palatte on the next one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

