Abstract streetscape 2 – colored in

Here is my second stab at a semi abstract streetscape. I used the same basic color palette and size so that the two could hang or be sold together if I so decided.  I once again used one of my main street reference photos and made a few  minor adjustments.  

Colored streetscape

I kind of like the red striped awning on the right side.  I tried to carry some of the red over into the left side onto the buildings to help balance it.  I am also a little pleased with the sky.I think the recessed doorways came out well.  I didn’t want to make them too dark and just keep it lightly suggested.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 21:26:48

    I like these street scapes you are doing. This one is so interesting. Really like the placement of the tree in this one with the door peeking out under it. The sky is good!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 08:41:01

    Thanks, Leslie. I am happy to say I placed the tree myself as there isn’t much on the actual street. LOL I was pleased with the sky too. I really feel that these watercolors are a stretch for me. The inking is not difficult. but deciding where to splash on the color is very hard. Eventually, I hope it will be freeing.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:37:17

    Looks so great! The colors and shadows are really terrific, and all the nice details. You certainly don’t make it look like it’s a stretch! Definitely a great sky.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 13:29:15

    Thanks, Cindy. I may decide to do a few more of these and experiment more with the colors.

    Reply

  5. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 14:38:39

    Very nicely done. Balanced – good composition.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 17:31:50

    Thanks, Linda. My nnext one will have more color Ithink.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

