Abstract architectural color.

Well, I got out the watercolors and decided to be a little bold. The first thing I did was splash on the yellow so there would be no going back. I then put on the green of the trees and moved back to the buildings.   I layered on some brick-red and then decided to paint on some purple for the shadows and liked it so much, I went ahead and splashed  more onto the buildings.  I am not sure if I am done with it yet but it is a good start  and I am pleased with it.  I am thinking about defining the black of the buildings a bit.  I don’t quite like the positive/negative aspect of it yet, but that is part of the experiment, is it not?

Abstract colors for the achitectural drawing

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 09:15:11

    Oh my gosh, this looks so cool! The purple and blue of the windows is really great. Looking at it, it is clear to me I would have no idea how to achieve the light quality you did. Super neat! I really like it.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 09:20:16

    Thanks Cindy. Sometimes I don’t know what I did either. I may even try another. LOL I am going to let it sit a few days.

    Reply

  3. DixCutler
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 11:11:31

    I like the sense of freedom in this. It makes one feel the light is moving, dappled. (Does that make sense?)

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 13:03:29

    Yes, it does, Dix. And it is all inadvertent as I have no idea what I’m doing.

    Reply

  5. Diane
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 05:33:47

    GO for it!! This is in the Zone!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 09:23:31

    I’m starting another drawing. We’ll see what happens.

    Reply

  7. lindahalcombfineart
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 14:41:18

    Many watercolor artists do the opposite…they splash color and then use pen to draw based on the shapes in the watercolor. Just one more approach. So many options – so little time.

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 17:33:32

    I have tried that a couple of times. You splash the paint around and then find soimething in it. this is really differentfor me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

