Illustration style building

I was rather intrigued with the last drawing, having not done something in that style before. I got to thinking after I did the little bit of color on it, that this might lend itself to a little experimentation.  I took some of my streetscape pictures and cobbled together this effort.  Cindy (http://www.theslumberingherd.com/) suggested trying some more wildly colored builings and I though this would be perfect for it.

Before the colorI plan to add splashes of red and yellow for the building and then see where it takes me.  Maybe a little purple will liven things up.  the nice thing is that the time involved here is a lot less than with the detailed work.  This is rather small at about 8″x8″ and I wasn’t overly careful about exact dimensions so the pencil up and the inking went rather quickly.  Once I actually get the courage to throw the paint on we’ll see what happens.

I do think it is something that I want to paint all at one time to keep a creative flow going so I’ll wait to wait until the next sitting to start.  The good thing is that I should be able to do it all at once.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jcstrong
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 17:49:14

    Yes, go for the color….Looking forward to the progress of this painting.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 18:58:12

    I was working on it today. Pictures on Wednesday I hope.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

