Streetscape

In spite of the almost summer like weather we have been having, I worked to finish the streetscape the last few days.  I haven’t done anything quite in this style before, but I like the way it has worked out and I hope she does too.  I have two small details to go over with her because the pictures were unclear, but it is otherwise done.

streetscape inked

I xeroxed the inking and added a little bit of color to the girl to make her stand out a little from all of the buildings.  I am kind of up in the air about the effect.  I do kind of like it but it may not be as necessary as it seemed when it occurred to me while trying to sleep one night.  I know it’s kind of hard to see in this scale but the figure pops a bit and as a feature on her dog walking blog site, it might be a good idea.

Girl in red

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 11:11:51

    Wow! It looks so great! Fancy little windows and doors, cute little window boxes. Great job! One day you’ll have to post some progress pics for one of your buildings. Do you measure stuff out? Draw all the main lines with a ruler? I hope your client loves it!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 12:02:02

    Thanks Cindy. Since it takes me so long to do one thing and I want to post twice a week if I can, all I have done is pencil/ink/color over several posts. And for some reason WP sometimes doesn’t like me to post a bunch of pictures at one time.

    I do some measuring out for the pencil and lay lines with a ruler and triangle, but I do the actual ink work freehand. I like the looseness it imparts and usually I can “draw a straight line”.

    I have been visiting your blog but the apple won’t let me comment while the pc will. It kind a depends on what I am using at the moment.

    Reply

  3. jaci
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 12:42:36

    Ruth, I like the pop of color on the girl. The details of your work is just amazing!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 16:27:18

    Thanks, Jaci. I think it helps her stand out a little from the background.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

