Spring has sprung

Spring break is over at last. Not that we went anywhere but we did take a little time off to spend with family.  The first tinge of green has appeared on the trees and my daffodils have begun to bloom almost a month to early.  It has reached the 80’s for the last week so they won’t last very long.  The vinca is also blooming profusely and I saw this morning that my rhubarb has indeed survived the winter and its wild temperature swings.  I probably will let it go another year before cutting any since it has only been in a year.  I saw the does playing in the shallow end of the pond and unfortunately for the mallards, the snapping turtles have started to rise.   I don’t know how long the ducks will stay if they start getting attacked by the snappers.

Pencil streetscape

I did end up getting a pen and ink commission during that time and I have started the pencil sketch.   It will be a little bit different from most of my work, as she wants it to be on the minimal side – almost closer to an architectural elevation drawing.  I won’t be putting in the brickwork and siding but concentrating on signage mostly.  Apparently it is a rather famous street.   She is starting a dog walking business and wants to use it on her website as well as frame it, so I may add a dog walker to it.  A figure will be rather small because it is the whole block of seven buildings so I may suggest that we color the figure to make sure it pops into view and doesn’t get lost in the black and white lines.  I don’t know yet.  I think I’ll wait until the inking is done to decide.  It will be long and thin at 16″x5″ because it is of so many buildings.  I kind of wish that she wanted the facade features and the trees because I have never strung this many together from straight on and perspective photos combined.  I had to stop yesterday because my brain was getting fried trying to account for the different relative sizes.  Anyway, it is good to stretch my skills.  At least that is what I keep telling myself.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 10:52:07

    The streetscape is looking nice! I would love to be able to do buildings but there is not enough time in the day! I would think at least one tree would be really nice, particularly if there is a nice big one in the photos. I’m sure you’ll figure it out!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 11:34:43

    I agree that with the street being so long that a few trees would break it up. I will discuss it with her as well as coloring the little figure to make it stand out a little.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

