Wedding bookmarks

The last few days I have been spending a little bit of time on some new bookmarks. My son and his fiance have asked me to make up some bookmarks to put on the reception tables and I have been wracking my brain to think of some themes besides the obvious.

Bookmarks for the wedding

Since it will be an outdoor wedding here at our home, I have tried to incorporate some nature themes.  They are both serious runners so I found a clip art that I modified a little since I don’t do figures often.  I had a few colored blanks left from before so I used them first.  Then I cut up some watercolor paper up into bookmark size to play with.  There are about half a dozen white blanks left so I have plenty left to experiment with.  I’d like to have at least a dozen for them to choose from.  I will probably scan the selected ones in and then print them up on card stock and use a 3 mil lamination for sturdiness.

Suggestions anyone?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 21:16:30

    These are great, Ruth! What a clever and unique idea to give to the guests; I’d love to receive something so personal like that.

    I think your plan to print on cardstock and laminate them will be perfect. Congratulations for the upcoming wedding, too!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 22:07:28

    Thanks Sonya. It was their idea to do this and I am happy to accomodate it. I just don’t think I am quite up to 100+ originals so that is why I plan on the copies. I’ll try to make some more over the next few days so there will be choices for them.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 10:25:37

    These are all looking so cute – and I don’t think copies is a problem at all, maybe 5 designs – 20 copies each, or are you trying to come up with one design only?
    Laminated cardstock – great! Some ideas:
    What if you used their initials in the design? Some calligraphy?
    How about a cute little tree trunk with their names carved in?
    Or your specialty, a teeny house with their name over the door? Or, a cute little mailbox with their names?
    I do like the butterflies and the ladybugs – I think the watercolor wash adds a very nice background.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 09, 2012 @ 13:23:45

      Cindy, I am thinking of having them pick out several. I don’t know how many are at a table, but I will probably work off of that. I like your suggestions and will try a few this weekend. Tune in later. LOL

      Reply

  4. DixCutler
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 13:10:07

    What a lovely project. I love personal touches at weddings.

    Reply

  5. padmaja
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 23:29:37

    I came here from Leslie’s blog today and really enjoyed all your work Ruth.. the architectural work is so full of perfection and is awesome!
    I loved these adorable personalized gift idea and I am sure they are going to be appreciated, all the best!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 08:34:19

    Thanks Padmaja. Aren’t Leslie’s blog and paintings wonderful?

    My son and his fiance have picked out six from the bunch and I will be making up the sets for the wedding soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

