Finished fruit watercolor

I worked a few more times on the watercolor and feel that it is basically finished. The computer has been down the last few days and in the shop so I couldn’t post a picture until today.  Pictures taken and no place to unload them.

Red fruit

I pretty much like the way the fruits have turned out, but the strawberry leaves are not quite what I hoped they’d be.  I think perhaps I may have to do a few leaf studies just to work out how I want to do it with the watercolors.  I like the textures of the raspberries and the strawberries that I achieved without the used of the pen.  The sheen on the pomegranate turned out okay too.  I just seem to get lost in giving the leaves enough definition, so perhaps it is time to just work on that.  My fingers are itching to use the ink on them, but I don’t think it would fit in with the rest of the painting and I don’t want to ink up the fruit.  I’ll probably get some of my house plants and use a few of their leaves since spring has not quite sprung yet, despite what the thermometer says today.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 18:13:19

    Wow! I think the result is really great! I can see what you mean about wanting a little more definition in the leaves, but the raspberries and strawberries in particular are really nicely done. I love that pale bowl with the very subtle pattern and then the darker background to pop it out. This is probably my favorite watercolor you have done!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 18:35:25

    Thanks Cindy. I like it but I think I like some of the animal pen and ink/watercolors a litle more. Especially the pelican and giraffe. The plate is actually form my kitchen so I like it too! I do have to work on the leaves soon.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 18:02:42

    This is really beautiful. The fruit look ripe and juicy but like they’re seen through a soft lens. Really nice.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 10:09:18

    Thanks Linda. I think I like the pomegranate the best. These are my favorite fruits and that is why they were in my refrigerator.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

