Watercolor fruit

Fruit medley watercolor

I bought some fruit for my weekend guests and after everyone was gone, I thought it might be fun to have a red fruit medley watercolor.  I had a late season pomegranate, some fresh strawberries and a package of red raspberries, which I thought would make a lovely painting.  And while they are all reds, when put together, it is quite apparent that they are different shades and hues.  This is really only the base but I had to stop as the board was getting saturated and the colors flowing together more than I wanted.  I am leaving it overnight to completely dry.  Even when I use a hair dryer on the lowest setting sometimes it won’t be as dry as I want and I don’t really think cooking the paint is a good idea. 

It is still rather undefined and I will only be able to judge it when I put in more detail and shadows.  So far I like the mix of the reds.  The raspberries and the pomegranate are closer to being true reds with a little blue thrown in (mauve?) while the strawberries have more of an orange cast.  It will be fun experimenting with layering the colors on tomorrow.  And then I get to eat the still life!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 21:31:29

    I like it! I was going to ask if you would ink it, but then I read that you are going to define it more with paint. I think it will be really neat, because the texture of berries is so interesting.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 22:03:38

    If only I can do it and not make it muddy. At this point I don’t intend to use ink but you never know. It depends on how I feel about the watercolor definition.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 07:48:11

    Lovely!

    Reply

  4. Sonya Johnson
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 10:33:39

    I like how some of the edges fade away on this painting, Ruth. That’s one of the qualities of watercolor that I think make it so neat (at least in the hands of other artists).

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 23, 2012 @ 11:43:07

      I know what you mean Sonya. I still find the watercolors intimidating. I’m not sure yet how I want to add the detail. I guess I need to just plunge ahead.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

