Experiment II- with the pastels this time

I decided I needed to try the water spritzed ink technique with another architectural. I was not really satisfied with the way the watercolor/ink house turned out both in terms of the color and in the graying bleed across the image lines.  I wanted to see if I could limit the overflow of the ink across the edges with the frisket so I kept it on the small side.  The composition leaves something to be desired, but I was most interested in seeing how the frisket would perform so I didn’t pay as much attention to that as I probably should have.

The frisket seems to have worked as I hoped, keeping the spritzed ink from seeping outside the drawing lines.  However, I am not sure that I like the way that the ink is grayed out.  It does seem to affect the pastel put over the top but not quite as much as with the watercolors.  The gray undertones mean that I can’t blend quite as much as I would like and I have to leave a lot more pure color on top.  I also have to redo a lot more of the ink with the nib pen.  When I tried to use my technical pen to re-emphasize the black, the lines were too thin and didn’t seem to fit in well with the rest of the foliage area.  I had to go back to the nib pen with its inherent risk of blotches and constant reload.

I’m going to try another pastel, paying a little more attention to composition this time.  I think I will still keep it on the small side because of the frisket application issue, but maybe I’ll use the nib pen on the exterior finishes too.  I am sure that the constant pen reload will drive me crazy but I think that I need  to try various combinations.  I don’t really like the mix of the nib and the technical pen here and it will be interesting to see an architectural done solely with the nib.  I haven’t done that in a very long time.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 22:41:01

    Well, I think this is a really great window but I can see where some of the colors are a bit more muddied than usual. I sometimes intend to try new techniques but then if I like the way a drawing is coming out, I decide not to do something new for fear of ruining it. Not always, but sometimes. But really, the only way to move forward is to keep making small changes. At least I think so. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 22:53:03

    I’m getting better at trying new things and not getting overly fearful of the outcome. I must admit that I am keeping these drawings on the small size because I don’t want to “ruin” something that I have hours into. I think I will try this a few more times, but if I can’t resolve the muddying issue, I will probably go back to the old way. It may push me to try acrylics again after 30 years. I think I could be bolder with the acrylic because I could paint over what I didn’t like and get a little wilder. No way to use ink then though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

