Animal fun

I wanted a small project to work on last week because I was having super bowl company for the weekend, so  I pulled out a few animal reference photos and selected these two. 

Polar bear

When I started the polar bear I forgot to put on the frisket so he is a little texturally different than the others.  It turned out okay but doing this made me realize that I like the effect that the frisket gives.  I did apply it before I put on the watercolor, but it does seem to make a difference to use it with the prior penwork.  I went back and added some more ink to improve the black/white balance around the bear.

 

Squirrel

I don’t particularily like the heads on either one of these, but the squirrel’s head seems a little bit more off to me.  When I look at it, it seems too small.  Afterwards,  I went and added in some more background and fur ink to the squirrel too.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 11:12:06

    I think these are great animal studies. I particularly like the use of the dark background to give the figures definition. I should probably do that more. I suppose the squirrel could have a *slightly* larger head, but they look good to me. 🙂

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 12:59:24

    Thanks Cindy. I guess we all are the most critical of our own work. I’m having some fun with the animal studies. I haven’t been to the zoo in years (decades?) and am planning a trip a little later this spring. It will be so much easier now with the digital camera instead of surprises when the film is developed. I plan to run a whole battery or two dry.

    And please don’t think I have been ignoring your wonderful blog. The last several times I couldn’t post my comments for some reason. I wish I were more of a geek to figure these things out. I’ll keep trying.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 10:07:55

    Oh my goodness, so sorry for the trouble. You are not the first person who mentioned it. I’m not sure why it’s called a password but it’s just a copy and paste the random words/letters like most other anti-spam little thingers. (I may have to look into getting a different one, though. Nobody likes to miss comments!)

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 20:36:56

    We have both a pc and an apple and for some reason the copy and paste wouldn’t work with the pc. I tried the apple today and it let me in. Yay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

