Finished the entryway

Even though the weather has been pretty nice lately, I managed to get into the studio and color the entryway. this one is a little plainer overall then most of the previous ones, but I thought that it was distinctive enough to draw.  I couldn’t figure out a crop to emphasize the doorway more, so I ended up including the whole gable.

Brick and Limestone Entryway

There is a nice limestone surround framing the doorway and a lovely quad window set with transoms in the front.  Above those windows there is a carved wooden arch with flowing embellishments.  This one has a little bit browner brick than some of the previous ones and the lovely slate roof typical of the area.  I love the little shed dormer above the door.  It makes me wonder whether it goes into a little attic room or if the foyer has a raised ceiling.  I would guess a room as I don’t think high ceilings in a foyer became fashionable until later.  Don’t know for sure though.

This particular house had minimal landscaping so I made up my own.  I never can understand when a grand house like this doesn’t have landscaping to complement and accentuate its architectural features.  Maybe it was in transition but there just didn’t seem like much going on or planned so I helped it along.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 02:16:06

    Another great house! What really struck me about this one is that pale aqua color you used on the tiny lanterns and that bit below the leftmost window. It’s just perfect and goes with the terra cotta color so well. Or maybe it’s that you did a kind of wash with it across the roof. It really looks nice.

    So Ruth, are you ever going to go a little crazy one one of these? Make a purple one, or add a zebra on the front lawn, for instance, or perhaps a zebra-striped house? 😉

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 08:55:56

    Cindy, you have made me think about this. I have to work over my fear I guess. I think if I painted with acrylics I would dive right in, but it is harder for me to conceive of with the watercolors or pastels. Maybe I should just get a beginner set and paint away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

