An internationally selling artist.

The last few days have been filled with overcast skies, fog, and rain.  The lake has risen a couple of feet and the grass has stayed quite green with the warmer temperatures and abundant moisture.   Not that I am complaining mind you.  Last year we had about 15″ of snow already and I certainly don’t miss that.  Another evening of rain and then the sun returns with temperatures in the 40’s.  I can get used to that.  I’m not going to miss a white Christmas after last year.

The final pastel

I was going to post the last photo of the finished entryway yesterday, but when I looked at the pictures I had taken, I realized that I didn’t like the lack of shadowing behind the flowers in the front.  So it was back to the drawing board with the colored pencils and pastels.  I made a few more minor adjustments and improved it I think.

And now to the title of this post.  You are currently reading the blog of an internationally selling artist.  Much to my surprise, last week I got an inquiry from a woman in the UK concerning one of my etsy listings.  Would I consider doing an international sale?  Would I?  You bet I would!  It was really just an illustration style pen and ink of a barbershop window that I created as part of a mustache related challenge within one of my etsy teams and listed.  It was small and simple and I never dreamed that it would actually sell.  I looked at it as just a fun, playful piece, but she and her business partners wanted to purchase the drawing and then use it as a logo and for signage.  You could have blown me over with a feather.  So it is currently on its way to Wales. I guess there is no telling what will appeal  to someone out there and we shouldn’t box ourselves or our artwork in.  I have asked her to send me a picture after the sign is made and placed.  I know it’s not much, but it was pretty thrilling for me.  Perhaps one of these days, one of the larger, more elaborate pastels will follow.  I might have to raise the postage though.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 21:35:30

    Well done, you.

    It is a thrill, isn’t it? I made a couple of International sales last year – one to Belgium and another to Italy. I’ve never been to either country, but I like to think of things I created being there.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 22:49:04

    It was such a surprise to me – but a pleasant one and I like the idea of it being used as a logo/sign. My husband’s ancestors came from the UK and he always has wanted to visit. If it ever happens it would be so much fun to visit the barber shop where it is going.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 10:21:56

    Congratulations on yur international sale, Ruth. This doorway is beautiful, as always.
    …and no snow is fine with me, too!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:03:18

    Thanks Leslie. I wanted to ask you, do you stretch the Arches paper or use it as is?

    Reply

    • lesliepaints
      Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:24:07

      I tape it to a board with masking tape but do not stretch it. I don’t remove the masking until the painting is completely dry and that seems to work just fine for me. I don’t work on larger than a half sheet and have been told when I start working on full sheets, I’ll need to stretch it.

      Reply

  5. ruthsartwork
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 11:42:50

    Thanks. I don’t tend to work very large either – mostly 12×16 or less. Too much white paper can get intimidating for me. Off hand, I can’t think of anything I’ve done over 16×20 since college and those were commissioned home portraits. I have enough trouble getting the balance I like in a work on smaller things without upping the scale and the reach of my arms over my drafting table.

    My paper came today so I will start using it next week, if not sooner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

