Another experiment

I was inspired by Leslie of http://www.lesliepaints.wordpress.com to try a new technique of pen and ink with watercolor using a spray bottle to spread the ink a little before it dries and then paint the watercolor over it.

a carved flower pot

I had a few small pieces of watercolor board left over form the larger pastels and I thought this technique was so interesting.  She has two wonderful examples on her blog as well as some instructions that you may want to check out linked on my blogroll.  I did these kind of on the fly today just to see how it might work.  I had photographed some vases and pots around the house a while ago and decided that these two would be sufficiently simple for me to try and not get too intimidated.  I think I like the little vase better.  The reds of the dried flower sprigs seems to go nicely with the brown of the carved vase.

Ivy in a red pot

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 17:59:02

    They’re adorable!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 19:02:04

    Thanks. I plan to try a little jumping pygmy goat tomorrow.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 18:30:57

    I like the flow you achieved with the ink in the top one Ruth! I don’t know if it is the colors as much as the flow of the ink, but I like both! Try this on either Arches coldpress or rough. The ink movement is dramatic and clapping for you venturing into trying this! 🙂

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 19:04:33

    Thanks, Leslie. I like the top one better too. I have ordered some arches paper and should get it soon. I meant to the last time, but of course I had a senior moment and forgot until after the order was already in. I made a year end order and remembered this time. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

