Learning to work with a hand and a half

This week my time in the studio was not quite what I expected it to be.  I’m fortunate that the thumb and first two fingers of my hurt hand are free and I can use them.  With a little experimentation, I’m figuring out how to use my left hand without putting weight onto it – not as easy as it sounds because if you are able grab something with those fingers, the tendency is to use the hand too much.  I can feel it if I grab and pull or try to carry something too heavy.  Right now I try to use my forearm if I need to balance a weight.

The little country house

I didn’t end up finishing the latest entryway because I got a frantic e-mail Friday from a person who needed a home portrait in time for Christmas.  We quickly exchanged info and pictures and I put up a listing on Etsy for her so I was able to start the pencil drawing on Saturday.  I spent today inking it in.  It is only a 6″x8″ size so it did go pretty quickly.  As you can see, it is a cute little house located in WV and occupied by the client’s mother 20 years ago.  She only had two pictures to use but we managed to work out the details.  It is a little flat without any shadowing but I will touch up the inking tomorrow with fresh eyes and then start coloring with the pastels.  I am pleased with it so far and happy I could work with my hand.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 23:25:02

    It’s a very cute house! Glad you can do some work, even if it’s a bit slower than normal. Your style has not suffered one bit! I do hope you feel better soon. And congratulations on the sale!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 09:36:51

    Thanks Cindy. I had to cut back the bushes in the front so more of the porch is now exposed including the swing. That took a little back and forth between us. I found that the hardest part of the drawing was using my triangle for the brick line spacing. It tended to torque my left hand a little so it took longer than normal. And I was pretty excited about the sale, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

