Snow and rain outside, warm and dry inside

It seemed like a miracle to me, but I actually got two consecutive days of work in at the studio. Yesterday I spent a few hours coloring in with the pastels and adding a little greenery here and there to the pen and ink.  As I worked, I saw the rain outside my windows turn slowly to the first snow of the season and my heart gave a little lurch.  It wasn’t supposed to snow until later in the evening.  Was this a preview of things to come?  I hoped not.  I vote for a mild winter for a change.  Fortunately, even though we got a little more snow in the evening, the ground was still warm enough that it didn’t stick on the roadways and the total amount was relatively small.  Chalk up the first snow.

Tudor style

Anyway, I ended up adding a little shrubbery to the lower right.  After inking in the chimney, the expanse of brick seemed way too big so I put in some more greenery.  I’m not sure that it is enough but we’ll see.  I’m not quite happy with it yet.  I need to finish the shadowing too.  For instance, I forgot the shadow of the gable on the slate so the roof looks a little odd up there.  Easy enough to fix.  I may add some brighter flowers at the bottom for more visual interest.  I also need to re-delineate some of the ink lines to sharpen them up a little and use some colored pencil.  It’s not that far from finished but it seems the last details sometimes make or break a drawing.

I only gave it a light spray to pop the colors because of the rain.  I have to spray outside because of the fumes.  I hugged close to the house to give it a quick dose but I was leery of the eave drips falling on it and ruining my effort.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 17:32:09

    I really like this series you are doing, Ruth. Have you thought of, perhaps, dedicating a page on your blog to posting a gallery of these? Would really like to see them all together. The roof color is fantastic!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 18:42:36

      Yes Leslie I actually have been thinking about it. I just need to find the time to get it organized. I thought things would slow down when summer ended but it hasn’t really happened yet. Thanks for the input that I should just go ahead and do it. And I really love the slate roofs too.

      Reply

  2. DixCutler
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 18:16:10

    It just looks llike a house you’d want to live in;-)

    Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 18:46:15

    I would even just love to stand in the foyer of some of these grand old houses. They must be beautiful.

    Reply

  4. Sonya Johnson
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 20:56:30

    This looks like such a cozy and inviting house :). The added foliage is just perfect, I think.

    We have a 50% chance of snow here tomorrow, but for 6,700′, that’s not unusual. Still, I wouldn’t complain if it held off until sometime in late Dec…

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 30, 2011 @ 21:09:44

      I love the exteriors of these houses. I just want to go inside and see how they are decorated.
      The forecasters are all over the map with their predictions for the winter. I have given up expecting anything more than a day ahead anymore. We have a steep hill to the house and last winter, between my illness and the snow, my car didn’t get driven for almost 6 weeks. The truck took us everywhere for a while. Thanks heavens for 4 wheel drive.

      Reply

  5. Sandy Lewis
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 21:02:14

    The painting is looking great, I think adding the flowers you mentioned will be a plus.
    We had our first snow last night also, just enough to cover the grass. It was all gone by late afternoon. You have my vote for a mild winter.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 21:10:59

    Thanks Sandy. Our snow was the same. More of a scare than anything else. I’m skittish after the last few winters.

    Reply

  7. Meis
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 21:20:58

    Looks great! Very cool to be able to see the progression over a few posts.

    Reply

  8. ruthsartwork
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 10:15:06

    Glad you like it Meis. I enjoy remembering the stages myself. Still needs some tweaking.

    Reply

  9. One Heart
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 14:50:58

    Hi Ruth! I could just move right in. You make it so inviting!

    Reply

  10. ruthsartwork
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 17:15:48

    Thanks Debi. I’d like to see the insides too. What if I just knocked on the door….

    Reply

  11. Cindy D.
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 00:59:18

    Love the foliage. And the colors you picked for the roof tiles are really neat. What do you spray it with? And can you go back and add stuff once you’ve done that?

    (Also, Leslie’s idea is great and I’ve been trying to figure out how to do a gallery myself!)

    Reply

  12. ruthsartwork
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 09:04:44

    Hi Cindy. I love the slate tile roofs too. There is quite a range of color on all of the houses with the slate. I think it means it is the best quality from Vermont or New Hampshire. I can’t remember which right now.

    I have two fixatives I use. I’m not at home right now and I can’t remember the names of course but I have used them for for years and still like them. I post it when I get home.

    Reply

  13. J. R. Hamilton
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 17:34:16

    I like your writing voice. Your artwork is beautiful too. Glad I stumbled into your site. I’ll be back.

    Reply

  14. ruthsartwork
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 17:56:17

    Thanks JR. Glad to have you.

    Reply

  15. Trackback: 1820 Glencrest « AFFINITIES…

Leave a Reply

