Back in the studio at last

The family company is gone and the weather has turned rainy for a while. I have felt cold all day with the change in the temperatures from the 60’s to the 40’s and inked my drawing in the studio bundled in my sweater and LL Bean fuzzy slippers all afternoon.

All inked in

I was able to work for several hours and managed to finish most of the inking.  I’ll look at it tomorrow and perhaps start coloring it with the pastels.  I like all of the angled brick and the curved chimney  with the its added insets and soldier courses.  I am not sure I would call it a true Tudor with the sided gable but it does have the stucco and the timbered work.  The front door is a nice, heavy wooded piece which was dressed up with a pretty wreath that I decide to keep to dress it up a little.  I miss the diamond windows of the past few entryways, but the small square panes are not unattractive.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 19:20:20

    I know next to nothing about architectural styles, so I shall take you at your word that it may not be a true Tudor. How long did this take you? Or I guess it makes more sense to ask what size it is, and how long it took you (if it’s not too rude to ask!). I mean, the teeny lines in the grass, even if you’ve done it a ton, must be time consuming! But what a great effect. I love the lines, and really the total effect of all the different shapes and shades. Love the bricks. And really I like the windows with all those teeny square panes.

    One day I am going to have to try something more architectural. But it will probably be a house in the shape of a giant St. Bernard or something! 🙂 Also, hooray for fuzzy slippers!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 22:03:04

    Hi Cindy. This took me about 3-4 hours or so to ink in. Some of that includes the lining time to space out and place the brick. My pencil sketch is not overly detailed and I tend to add more pencil as I go along where I need a little more structure such as for the brick and the gridding in the windows. It’s about 10″ x 10″ so it’s not too big. All told I may have 10 or so hours done over the course of a few days in something roughly this size. It may seem odd, but the pastel coloring actually takes the least amount of time. Often the initial layout is the hardest because I may decide to alter the image size somewhat after I pencil it out. I leave extra margin space on the architectural work so I can adjust the image if it seems to need it.

    I love your animals and I am sure an architectural St Bernard would be extremely interesting to see! And, yes, hooray for fuzzy slippers. I hate to be cold.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

