I bet my grill can out race yours

It was a wild and wooly weekend .  We didn’t get the rain other locales did but boy did we ever get the wind.  We have a medium sized grill on our deck that was pushed up against the house.  On Saturday I noticed it out about 6 feet from the wall and I thought “Why did John move that there?”  On Sunday he called to me saying “Look at that.”  There was the grill caught against the patio table and two chairs.  He hadn’t moved it – the wind had.  I knew the wind had been gusting strongly, but I never would have guessed that it would be able to move the grill across the deck boards and around the table corner until it got trapped.  I guess I should be glad it didn’t decide to go the other way and fall down the steps.  Now that would have been a mess not an amusing spectacle.

Tudor Entryway

Yesterday I selected another entryway to do. I really like the whole house. The chimney was quite distinctive, but in the end I decided to go with a partial portrait. For some reason I find the partial aspect to be so much more interesting to me at this time. I finished up the pencil sketch and stopped for the day and should be able to get back to it later on today.

Once again the mason had a good time being creative.  There are about 6 different patterns in the brickwork and I love the chimney’s shape.  The gentle curve extends far off to the right almost to the ground and the upper part is fluted almost to the top.  This house has no stone accents but its door has an interesting curve to it.  The panel above the door is painted wood where I might have put limestone, but the shape is pleasing with the point in the arch.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 13:17:17

    Great BBQ tale!
    That house looks like a great subject.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 19:03:41

    Thanks. I’m looking forward to inking it.

    Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 13:56:15

    I can’t wait to see the finished piece of art. Hope your holiday was wonderful!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 18:18:53

    Linda, I hope your holiday was happy, too. I did manage to get in a little time today to work on the inking, but it is hard with company to disappear into the studio. Fortunately they all went out shopping and visiting so there was a little bit of quiet time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

