Fall gourds II

Fall painting

Did you ever have one of those lost weeks? Or two?  That was me in recent days. I started painting this 2 1/2 weeks ago and the three sit downs were separated by close to a week each because “real life ” intruded. I finally got it to a passable stage late last night. I decided to work in the evening which I don’t often do.  I was determined to have something to post today.

As I said, I felt it needed something to go on the left to balance the composition so I decided to put an onion there.  I thought the colors would match well.  I wasn’t really happy with the overall definition, so I decided to take Cindy’s suggestion to add some ink and I think I’m glad I did.  I tried to also tone down the orange a little although it is not as overpowering in the actual painting as in the picture.  I think this is one of those works that I may have to let sit a while before I really decide if I like it.  Overall I think it has some good qualities, but I am not quite sure in the back of my head if it will stay that way.  I’m hoping to have a lot more time in the studio this  and I look a this maybe next week.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 06:12:23

    Ruth, the color in this is beautiful. Clear and pure. I find the “living with it” phase to be one of the most important parts of my painting. I trust my intuition…if I find something that nags at me I go after it. Sometimes it works…sometimes it doesn’t!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 09:32:04

    I agree Linda. I trust my intuition too. The problem is getting my hands to do what my eyes says it needs. And I do find that getting away briefly makes things clearer both ways – good and bad.

    Reply

  3. Cindy D.
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 21:23:22

    Shaping up quite nicely! I like the onion and the ink. The greens and oranges are so bright and nice. I wonder if a few drops of one more color (a couple red ladybugs?). Ah, I don’t know! That could be crazy. And actually, I see you weren’t asking for suggestions. ;P

    You’ll figure it out, or at the least, you’ll learn something new for the next one!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 22:04:16

    Thanks for the suggestions, Cindy. I’m always open to that. I did think about adding some brighter colors. Ladybugs might be just the ticket.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

