Unexpected pleasures – take them when you can

Sometimes things don’t go as planned, no matter how I try. I guess the trick is to let it go and deal with what the reality is.  I had picked out a drawing to do and was preparing to start it when my new watercolors arrived.  Naturally I had to see what I had really bought since all I had was the pictures on the website and a sheet of recommended colors to purchase.  I altered my plans and made a still life with the gourds I found a week or so ago.  I was able to spend a few hours setting up the layout (jeesh are gourds hard to pose attractively) and lay down some preliminary colors.  That is where the fun stopped.  Other considerations intervened and that is where the painting sits.  I guess it is a good thing gourds are durable and long-lasting because I think it will be the weekend before I can get back to it.  I must say I am happy so far with what colors I bought.  I might make a few additions but not too much yet.

My confused iris

On the better side, these days my studio smells like an herb garden.  I recently picked most of the last of the tomatoes, peppers and herbs before an expected light frost.  The tomatoes are in the garden window to ripen, but I spread out the herbs on a piece of newsprint on the studio table to let them dry.  I did this last year and it worked out well.  I turn them over every day or two and eventually it all is dry enough to put into containers.  The aroma is quite pungent for the first few days and increases again when I turn them over.  I got a little bit of a surprise, though, when I picked the produce.  I glanced over to where the herbs were to check on them and something caught the corner of my eye.  There was something odd about the irises.  I did a double take when I realized several of them had sent up flower stalks and were attempting to bloom again.  They had never fulfilled their advertised promise of reblooming due, I guess, to the drought.  When we finally got some rain and more moderate temperatures, they must had decided it was fine to try again.  I held my breath through several more cold nights, but you can see that they made it.  I don’t know how many of the buds will actually get to fully bloom, but I am so glad to have the ones that did.  And you can see the petunias also made a great recovery.  Who’d have thought all these flowers were possible at the very end of October.  Certainly not I.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Lewis
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 20:55:54

    Oh, what a nice surprise to have the flowers bloom again. I think sometimes the flowers are the prettiest at the end of fall.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:01:26

    Yes, I was totally surprised at the irises. I had forgotten that I had planted some rebloomers and it is special that they reappeared.

    Reply

  3. Jaci
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:26:26

    I love my rebloomer – I have one white one and it is stunning! But it didn’t rebloom this year… so happy yours did! I love those little bonuses that pop up in the garden every so often!

    Reply

  4. DixCutler
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:51:22

    lovely — can imagine your drying herbs. Must make for a very nice studio;-)

    Reply

  5. ruthsartwork
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 21:53:15

    I’m going to enjoy them while they last, for sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

