Sketching for practice

Sketch 1

A while back I bought a sketch journal to go along with Danny Gregory’s book, “Creative license”.  I had been wanting to try a daily or at least every other day sketching routine as a way to loosen up my style and creativity and got the book as a jumping off point.  I’m not too good at initiating these kinds of things myself and the structure to at least start an activity is beneficial.  I did well for a while, but it fell by the wayside when we went on a short trip and I forgot to take the journal with me.  We got very busy on the return and I never quite got back to it.

Sketch 2

Lately, I have been feeling the need to try it again.  I pulled out the old sketch book and found, low and behold, that the sketches had improved over time.  I think maybe they got bored being hidden and ignored for so long and rearranged themselves.   Anyway, I like them a little better than I did at the time and it gives me impetus to try again.  The question now is whether I should work on one side of a page only or on both.  As you can see there was some bleed through of the ink pen.  And I think I may want to use pen, at least for a while, since it won’t allow me to erase and get stuck obsessively on something.  

Sketch 3

These are a few of the sketches from around the house – wherever I could find a place to sit comfortably and look.  I’m starting to size up a few new things to work with  now.  I have some wooden shore birds on a beam that would be easy to draw and some dresser top items for small object work.  Then perhaps I’ll step outdoors while the weather is still mild.  Maybe in time I’ll feel inspired to add a little color too.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary C. Nasser
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 11:23:27

    Love the gestural quality and freshness of these sketches!
    Thanks for posting!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 13:04:48

    Thanks Mary. I find that after I haven’t looked at something I did in a while, I either feel it was better or worse than I originally thought. And I can never tell what it will be.

    Reply

  3. midnightcoiler (lynn)
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 14:07:36

    Nice studies! Great idea using a sketch book for exercises. If you might add color eventually I wonder if that would bleed through too. Seems to me some of the sketches might turn into something more. If that’s a possibility maybe use only one side? Thanks for sharing your lovely work.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 14:15:59

    Thanks, Lynn. I did look at the sketchbook again and it is acid free so there would be that possibity to keep in mind. Perhaps I should just use one side for now. I like the option of color at some time later too.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 21:22:17

    These are really nice, particularly the ornate little chest at the top. Drawing every day, just like writing every day, is always a great idea. Not only do you sharpen your skills, but sometimes you find a new subject or technique to explore, which is fun.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 22:31:35

    Thanks, Cindy. I did three sketches today of the shore bird sculptures in about about 15 minutes. I figure If I do that first thing in the morning I can get a habit started.

    That chest you mentioned is in the sitting area of my studio. My mom and dad bought it for me and my husband when we moved into our first home. They went auctioning 30 years ago before it became the thing to do. My dad refinished it and I have had it ever since.

    Reply

  7. lesliepaints
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 13:36:33

    This is a great idea. I love looking at sketches, Ruth. I call them drawings, though. I am dancing with number three drawing. That dresser has some sway to it and I find it pleasing. I long for us to get away from the mundane of perfection and find life in what we do by hand. These have that! Thank you for sharing them!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:05:04

      I actually never noticed the curve in the 3rd drawing, LOL

      I need to do this more often to free my mind and pen. What I really should do is set 15-20 minutes after breakfast and just do it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

