I think it’s finished now

All done

Here is another photo of the entryway after I worked on it today. I don’t know if you can see much difference because it is still a little washed out, but I added more shadowing and highlighted the door some with the colored pencil.  It also occurred to me today that I hadn’t addressed the changes on the right side in yesterday’s post either.  As you can see there is now a window there.  That came about in a rather funny way.  I was merrily inking in the shingles without a care in the world.  I had roughed in the horizontal pencil lines, not paying too much attention to where the edge of the picture was.  So of course, I went outside the margin lines when I started the inking.  Fortunately I saw my mistake before I had gone very far and I try to leave a little extra margin for adjustments.

It was only about 1/4″ over, but now the blank space was going to be too large for just some texture.  I mulled it over and decided to place part of a window there.  The real windows were some thin, slatted affair reminiscent of a 3 season porch which I couldn’t understand, so I decided to go with the diamond grids again.  I actually kind of like the composition better with the changes.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 23:07:47

    I think the window is great.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 08:57:14

    Thanks. Sometimes accidents make improvements.

    Reply

  3. wrjones
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 18:42:43

    A cute home with very nice stonework.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 19:51:58

    Thanks Bill. I popped over to your blog and really enjoyed it. A blog that combines art and humor is always so much fun to read. I’ll be visiting again.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 13:27:08

    These entryways are always pleasing, Ruth. I like this very much and such fine tuning to bring your vision forward.
    I know what you are saying about the original looking different than the photo. I always have to put my work into my photoshop program and fine tune so the digital looks like the original. I have noticed that gray days blur and dull an image, so seek sunlight and then use my levels in photoshop to resolute. I think that is the only problem you are facing. I have more problems with this in the winter than summer months. Hope that helps.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 17:25:11

    I keep telling myself I need to start working with the photoshop elements program I have, but I never seem to get to it. Maybe over the winter when there is not so much competing for my time, I will.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

