I’ve colored it in, mostly inside the lines

I pretty much finished up the drawing today. I think I’ll let it rest a day or two and then go back to make a few additions.

 

Almost colored in

The colors are a little washed out in the photo so I will also retake them later before I list it in my shop.  I did it outside and although the sun wasn’t overly bright, the limestone accent blocks are really much more textured, as is the foliage.  I don’t know what the problem is with the light today.  And now it is starting to rain, so I can’t take it back outside in the evening light.  Not complaining, mind you, as I will happily take a gentle soaking rain for quite some time.

I will play a little with the shadowing, especially on the lower left behind the flowers.I also need to texture the door finish a bit more.  It comes off as a little flat to me.  I did put in some yellow highlights, but the spray fixative kind of washed them out.  I may do it with the colored pencil and not respray as the pencil won’t smear like the pastel does.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 18:19:06

    Another wonderful doorway! I really like the irregular bricking on the right side of the door, and the shadows from the tree on the various bricks look fantastic.

    I hope your eye irritation is all healed up and won’t bother you again. I used to wear contacts all the time, but after an eye infection and just becoming too lazy to deal with them, I stick to glasses now.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 19:00:55

    Thanks Sonya. My eye is all better. Today is the last day for the drops. I really don’t like my glasses. They are thick, heavy and really distort my eyes. Think beady eyes. And I get no peripheral vision.

    I’m pretty happy with the entryway. Those builders knew a thing or two about how to make an entryway attractive way back then. I just wish I could get a better picture to show the subtle shades of the limestone. I’ll try again tomorrow and if I can do it, I’ll change the photos out.

    Reply

  3. Jaci
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 20:45:28

    Beautifully done! I am in awe of your talent 🙂

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 22:33:56

    Thanks Jaci.

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 06:54:47

    Just lovely, Ruth! Architecture is definitely your thing.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 10:41:08

    Thanks Karen. Rug hooking is definitely yours. They are so beautiful no matter what the subject. Your colors are always gorgeous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

