Another neo-gothic

This morning started out again with a gentle, misty rain. The overnight temperatures are down in the 50’s so it feels cool and damp. I’m ready for the rain but not the cold yet. Summer ends this week and fall officially begins.  That would be okay if it were not the presage to winter. I’m just wishing for a milder, easier winter this year. I’ve had enough of cold, snow and ice to last me for a decade or so, thank you very much.

Pencil sketch

After fiddling with the aceos a little bit to get them ready for listing, I went through my reference photos and picked out another entryway. I especially liked the door in this one as well as the diamond grids in the windows. The brick mason was much more traditional with this home, but there is added interest in limestone block additions around the door and the lower areas of the facade. I haven’t put the stonework in yet but will probably do that after some of the inking is in. The varying sizes of the stonework is taxing on my eyes and I like to do it a little at a time.

I also liked the little false ironwork deck below the window.  I’m not sure it properly belongs with this style of house, but I found it rather pleasing and it does dress up the upper gable.  And if you look closely, there are gentle curves in the roof lines.  There is a little upsweep to the roof on the lower eave to the left and the upper roof curves somewhat on the right.  It is subtle and I hope I will be up to the task of making that visible.

I have added to and removed some of the landscaping around the door. Except for one rather unattractive and poorly placed spiky evergreen and a funky cherry tree, there was not much please the eye. The low groundcover all across the front needed some added punch, so I have put in some more shrubbery and colorful flowers.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. handpaintedpetals
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 13:09:00

    Ruth, I love to read about how you go about what you do — a beautiful blending of technical skill and wonderful artistry. Love your work!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 15:25:13

    Thanks, HPP. I really like the pencil drawing phase. Everything seems so possible then.

    Reply

  3. Bozena
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 15:19:33

    And I just love all your architectural works 🙂

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 22:14:46

    Thank you. Architectural design has been an important part of my life for many years and I appreciate the wonderful buildings I have seen. It is always fun to take my camera on “hunting trips” for unique structures.

    Reply

  5. Cindy D
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 09:44:46

    Wonderful! Your shop is really outstanding. I particularly love teeny iron scrollwork and all the other little details. It’s so neat to see the beginning stages of a new piece. I think my favorites in your shop are the Florida streetscape with the lovely bright yellow and the Indiana Cityscape with the cute little shops (especially because it has a little bookstore). 🙂

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 16:47:11

    Thanks, Cindy. I popped over to your blog and enjoyed it. Now that I have your blog address, I’ll visit. I love the whimsical animals and how you have named them.

    I love drawing with the inks and then “coloring in”. I mostly use a rapidograph .35 or sometimes just the plain old nib pen once in a while, especially for animals.

    I’m pleased that you like my streetscapes too. I really have fun with architecture. It is surprising how some of the older main street boulevards can be so colorful. Nothing bland about them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

