After the holiday

Well, the holiday weekend is over, all of the company has returned home after a wonderful visit, and the cleanup has finally been accomplished.  I managed to get into the studio for a few hours today and start the coloring.  I had finished the inking last week but with holiday preparations and then company, I couldn’t get back to the studio.

Preliminary pastel

This is what I did this afternoon.  The colors are a little on the dull side as I haven’t sprayed it at all yet and I haven’t cleaned up the edges, especially around the exterior timber work.  It looks a little on the on the messy side since I have only used the kneaded eraser alone and not with the metal guide.  I plan to darken up the timber work with a few more layers and perhaps just a bit more subtle coloring to the brick work.  And I think I’ll make the shingles slate again.  Ahh, the privileges of artistic license when there is no client involved.  I do think I may need to add some dark on the right to balance out the windows on the left, but I haven’t quite decided how to yet.  Perhaps when I add more color to the foliage it will work itself out.  I’ll use the colored pencils after I spray with workable fixative to delineate the shadows.  All in all, I should  be able to finish by the weekend and then I’ll have to figure out what to do next.  sometimes that is harder than the actual artwork.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 09:50:31

    Wonderful progress. This is a very nice piece.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 10:26:36

    Thanks Linda, I think I still need to work out what to do on the right side yet to balance dark windows.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 11:00:52

    Beautiful doorway, Ruth. I don’t know that this needs a dark the other side. Perhaps prop it up and look at it from a distance and see. I think that large bush on the right keeps this in balance. That and that large light shape above it. Your doorways always impress! Love them.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 18:31:00

    Thanks, Leslie. I think I’ll have a better idea when I put in the roof colors and spray the fixative.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

