Summer surprise

For the last few weeks I have been seeing quite a few golden finches flying around the front yard. For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why they were suddenly appearing. I haven’t put out bird feeders in quite a while after the squirrel-induced truck burning driveway disaster. I have felt bad about that but the vehicle destruction costs and inconveniences made me not what to entice more squirrels close to the house.

Snacking on the cone flowers

I kept an eye out for them and suddenly realized that a number of them were eating the seeds of the coneflowers.  These are the very same flower beds where I picked a few to paint.  As you can see, they have all pretty much died back.  I am sure that there will be plenty of seeds dispersed for next year’s flowers.  It has been so nice to see the finches right up next to the house.  I know the picture could have been a little more attractively done, but it was hard to get a clear shot through all of the plants from inside the house and this was the best of the lot. 

The other thing I have seen lately is that some of the deer seem to be having an issue with their coats. One time I saw them down at the lake and about half of them looked distinctly grey compared to the normal reddish brown.  Some also had white patches.  I don’t know what the problem is with the fur, but it isn’t very good looking. And one day the flies must have been biting them pretty seriously.  One would be grazing on the shore line or in the water and suddenly jump up and dance around furiously.  It was comical at times, but I sympathize with the discomfort.  I have a photo of them but wordpress isn’t letting me post it correctly.  When I get it fixed, I will add it.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:19:32

    Isn’t it fun/fascinating to observe animal behavior? I got some photos last week of what was probably also a finch furiously ripping the centers out of some dried thistles and tossing them in the air. That behavior didn’t seem to have any point to me, but I’m sure there was one.

    I imagine that the poor deer are being bitten by horseflies…the biting flies have been a huge problem here this summer, and were always a problem when I lived in CT.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 10:40:40

    I had a few goldfinches at one time. the males kept shooing away the female from her seed pod. I guess she was finding the good ones. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

