Feeling refreshed so back to the architectural drawings

It has probably been a month or so since I’ve done any architectural drawing, but I really felt I needed a break and spent the time trying some new things with watercolors. It was a great mental change of pace and a real chance to experiment.  Of all of the paintings I did, I think I like the cone flowers and the apples/pepper ones the best.  It was a lot of fun, but I think I’m ready to get back to the pen and ink and pastel work now.  So I laid out the rest of the photos from Ohio earlier this week and picked out one that appealed to me.  

A Tudor entryway

As you can see, I ended up choosing another Tudor home.  It has a wonderful arch top wooden door and lots of interesting glass.  You can’t tell from the pencil drawing but the brickwork has the crazy angles to it also.  Someone had a lot of fun bricking in between the exterior timber work (or else was ready to tear their hair out).  Personally, I’m betting it was an interesting way to break up the monotony of the normal rows of brick.  The landscaping was a little thin, so I will add some more plants and colors.  It was early spring when I took the pictures and I can’t believe that there would not be flowers.

I really like all of the curved bracing in this one.  It adds so much architectural character compared to a house with only straight timber work.  The stone shields above the entryway are rather interesting too.  There are 3 distinct patterns.  I don’t know what they signify, but I like the variations.

I’m still looking for information on a good, reasonably priced home/office printer so I can make my own art prints, so if anyone can give me some hints, I’d appreciate it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 02:08:53

    I like all the shapes in this one, Ruth.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 08:42:20

    I do too. Sometimes the hardest thing is deciding on the crop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

