Fruit and vegetable medley – Peppers, potatoes, and green apples

I managed to get out earlier this week and buy the green pepper for my next painting. Actually I bought two – one to put in my artichoke pasta salad (yum) and one to paint. I still had the small, wonderfully knobby green apples that I picked from the old trees up on the hill and some potatoes from my sister’s garden. I tried the pepper and apples alone at first, but the composition and colors wouldn’t work out for me so I decided to add the potato.  It seemed much better then.

Fruits and Vegetables

I worked on the painting over the course of several days, a little bit at a time.  For some reason I had to let it set more often so I could “see” it again.  Maybe it was all of the greens involved starting to run together, but I felt I needed frequent breaks.  All in all, I am probably the most pleased with this watercolor.  I don’t know exactly why, but I like the colors and brush strokes of this one more than any of the others.  I finally had to stop when I felt that I was getting to the stage of adding a little here and a little there and suddenly it would become a little too much.

I think I’m about ready to go back to the architecturals now, feeling quite refreshed from all of the watercolor work.

I’m also thinking of making some prints of my work to sell.  Does anyone have advice on a good home printer that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg to buy and use?  It is so expensive to print commercially, even on line, and I would really like to be able to offer some prints in my etsy store.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaci
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 13:14:44

    What a pretty late summer grouping!
    I read the Naked Ladies post, too. I got some from a friend and now they’ve spread to several of my gardens. My (post college age) dd noticed them and asked about them – the first flower she has shown any interest in!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 19:02:28

    Thanks Jaci. I had fun with it. I counted my groupings in the front beds and I have seven. I have seen many around town and the countryside. Evidently the droughts and cold weather of the last two years haven’t bothered the bulbs, for which I am glad.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 02:07:49

    What a beautiful still life, Ruth. That ptatoe seems to add some warmth and fits really well in this grouping. I am so “beginner” with still life. I like this very much. I liked enlarging this and seeing all the brushstrokes.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 15:45:43

    I like this one too Leslie. I think it is the best of the lot. It did take me a while to arrange it – not that I am any great shakes at fruit still life. I put in some plums at first and that wasn’t right either. I finally decided to try one of my sister’s potatoes. The colors were better and the sizes seemed to fit. I did make it redder that it really was, but the painting seemed to call for it. I kept adding the orange until it told me to stop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

