It’s still so hot, hot, hot

Today was about our 14th or 15th day in a row above 90 degrees. I was so tired of winter that I don’t want to complain, but I wish we could have a little more rain here. I’m not sure if we have had even 1″ this month. Many of the storms in the area seemed to just go around. So, I am grateful at least for my air-conditioned studio and the little bit of precipitation that we got this week.

The layout

Amongst other things, I managed to lay out and ink in the small commission drawing ordered earlier in the week. It is a little more complicated than most because it is a remodel and not everything is finished. Most notably the color scheme is totally different from the pictures. I was able to get chips from the paint manufacturer, but now I have to be careful that I put everything in the proper place.  I have found that for me, the most complicated phase of a picture is often in the layout.  I have to determine the crop out and then begin the pencil drawing, deciding just how much detail I want to start with.  This one was a little more difficult than most because not only were the colors altered, but they wanted it to fit nicely into a standard frame.  Personally, I find it very difficult to work in a standard size.  I start out with a common size layout and it just doesn’t work with what I see and I have to expand it into my extra margin space.  This time, because of the specific request, I felt I had to do the best I could to accomplish that.  Fortunately the vertical townhouse gave me a little leeway with the adjoining homes.  I was able to fit it on an 8×10 board and work with a 1″ mat.

Inked in

I am fairly happy with the inking except for one thing – I had a brain cramp and mislayed the sidewalk lines.  As I was doing it I kept thinking this looks a little odd , but of course I didn’t stop to refigure.  I had layed them out with the roof lines instead of the primary perspective.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet, but I may have to speckle out the sidewalk more.  Fortunately the lines are not solid and I may be able to finesse it with a little effort and color.  Ink is so unforgiving.

I am about 2/3 colored in right now and hope to be all done on Wednesday.  It may seem odd, but I usually find that the color aspect is the fastest.  The inking usually takes the most time.
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. midnightcoiler (lynn)
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 21:11:21

    Looks great! I love seeing your process.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 07:43:40

    Thanks. It helps me stay on task.

    Reply

  3. Sonya Johnson
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 11:27:10

    Looks good so far, Ruth, especially considering the confines you have to worth within. I always enjoy seeing “in-progress” photos of artist’s work – it’s both interesting and informative.

    Personally, I find the 4:5 format to be the most uninteresting and difficult to make work (even more so than 1:1) in landscapes – both paintings and photography. I’m not sure why it’s so popular, but because it’s easy to frame, people like it. So, hats off to you for making it work. As always, I’ll look forward to seeing the colored version as well.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 17:54:18

    One of the reasons that I chose overall size of 8×10 for the 6×8 portrait was the ease of framing for them. I wanted perhaps to run 8.5 x 11 but that size is really not in vogue right now except as a document frame. It would have given a little more mat space. It’s all really neither here nor there. I just know that I find it hard to draw in standard frame size.

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 19:59:48

    I never draw or paint in standard frame or matte size. I would find that so restricting, so I understand what you are saying, Ruth. I like your drawing and since my focus is not on the sidewalk, I am not bothered too much by that at all. This is so good!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:41:54

    Thanks Leslie. It didn’t seem to me that you did in the pictures on your blog. I have tried time and time again, but it rarely seems to work out. I tried to do it so that I could mat and frame my own things for shows and competitions but usually I end up with adjustments outside the margins. I got a nice mat cutter earlier in the year and actually matted a few things up. It is amazing how that changes a picture. Still, the framing is difficult.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

