Rain at last

I felt the earth breathe a sigh of relief this afternoon After more than two weeks of super hot and dry weather, we finally got some rain this afternoon. The temperature dropped about 15-20 degrees in a short period of time as the rain poured down accompanied by some lightning and thunder. It was wonderful.

Day lily

I managed to spend some time this week in the studio even though I had to work three days on a set of architectural drawings on the computer. I decided to stay with the flowers because I have so many fresh ones outside right now and it is probably better to work from life for a change instead of from of a photograph, even if it is not really plen air.  I have some very lovely large day lilies blooming in a kind of deep mauve with a yellow throat and brown undertones.  I think I worked on it over two days, but  I don’t feel it is quite done yet so I will play a little more with it this week.  The painting is on the small side as these things go.  I had one long piece of leftover board that I cut down to two with an image size of 3″ x 5″.  I like the colors but I think I may want to try for a little more definition in it.  I haven’t totally decided.  I really don’t want to overwork it and muddy the colors.

The mustache challenge

The second piece turned out to be something for a challenge within one of the etsy teams I belong to and it had to involve a mustache of all things. I really don’t illustrative or cartoon art, so I had to think long and hard about what to do. I finally came up with an idea for barber shop scene. I wanted it to be fairly stark black and white with maybe just a little splash of color to catch the eye.  It is just a little piece done totally for fun.  I think the barber pole is actually the best part with its small amount of shading.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 21:42:15

    What a relief that you finally got some rain! I’d been hearing reports of that awful heat wave affecting basically the eastern half of the country, and felt bad for everyone (and secretly grateful I don’t live there anymore!).

    I have photos of a day lily that is this exact color – you did a great job of capturing it. I actually like it “as is” – maybe instead of re-working this one you could just paint another of the same plant and try for the look you wanted ;-)? I guess that’s coming from my experience with over-working things, the liberating feeling of just moving on to the next painting, and the quote I never forgot from my days in the medical profession: “the enemy of good is better”.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 09:18:59

    I think I agree with you concerning this painting. It is so easy for me to overwork something with just one more little adjustment. I rather like that medical saying. Sometimes it is better to just leave the painting alone. I may just set this aside for a few weeks where I can’t look at it at all. Often, when I can’t quite decide how to proceed, a work will look much better to me later or I can see what should be done.

    Those flowers are pretty well done now but I have some ever bloomers that are very close in color – just smaller. Also, yesterday I went with my daughter to a Borders book store and picked up two nice watercolor books. They are closing and I got a fairly good deal, although I don’t really need an excuse to buy books. (I am going to dragged kicking and screaming into the digital book age) I’m thinking of just running through some of the exercises in them and see what happens. I may use some acid free notecards for it, but if nothing turns out really okay it will be bookmark material time. Now that is really liberating – being able to cut something up in a detached fashion for another purpose.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 17:11:12

    Your flower is beautiful,as is. I vote for moving on to another as Sonya has suggested. I have day lillies this color. Are they popular, or what? This lilly looks colorful and very much alive, reaching for the sun!
    The mustache challenge would have me boggled, too! I think you answered the call, beautifully and wittily, Ruth. Good post.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 19:38:08

    I actually have two sizes of this flower. A friend gave me some corms (?) a few years ago when we were putting in the landscaping. These flowers are huge – almost 6″ across. The others are smaller everblooming and only about 2″.

    I’m kind of agreeing to move onto the next. It is so hard to just drop it when I have this niggling feeling that a little bit here and there would improve it. This is often the kiss of death for a piece as it will suddenly get overworked. I will set it aside for a while anyway and see what I think later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

