Play day

This week, I wanted to just try to do some loose, unfocused artwork.  I have done three fairly tight entryway drawings in a row and I felt the need to do something different.  I decided to take some of the small leftover cutoffs from the architectural drawings and make some abstract pen and ink sketches and then add watercolor.  I was inspired to try some pointillism effects by the blog http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/

Too much 60's kitchen

I framed out a drawing area and inked in some designs on two pieces of board and then started merrily putting on a variety of colors in what I thought were pleasing combinations.  Unfortunately, all of a sudden, when I looked at the colors, all I saw was 60’s kitchen colors – harvest gold and avocado.  You may not be able to see it , but I assure you that is what the colors look like.   After that, it was all I could see.  I was fairly amused at the way it turned out.  I had no real design plans for it and I just wanted to play around so there was no reason for frustration.  I just decided that they were done for.

Pointillism flowers

For the next one, I decided to reverse the process and start with the watercolor, thereby ensuring that the kitchen colors would stay in the kitchen.  I am somewhat happier with the pointillism flower painting.  I haven’t decided yet what else to do to it.  The colors are not quite as vivid as the photo appears to be.  I may take the pen to it somewhat like what I have done on the gift tags and just see what happens.  This is a week to just experiment and not get attached to the outcome.  Next week I’ll probably get back to more focused work with a fresher mindset.  I’ll post this drawing again when I have finished it.  I would like everything I do this week to be significantly different from what I have done before and surprise even myself.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 17:41:16

    Isn’t it refreshing (and probably necessary to prevent burnout) to switch gears and do something different for a change? I think it’s also very good for one’s creative flow to mix things up; often the results can surprise you!

    I had to laugh when I read the “60’s kitchen colors” comment – unfortunately, many of those appliances lasted into the ’70’s and ’80’s as well.

    Both Matisse and Seurat would like your pointillism flower painting, for sure :)! You did a very fine job on it.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 20:57:40

    I was actually feeling a little burned out and needed to do something way out there for me. I tend to get stuck in a rut and sometimes it gets hard to figure out what to do next. The abstract watercolors and pen and ink have helped a lot. That and finally realizing that it was okay to throw something out if I didn’t like it.

    I’m going to work a little more on the flowers. I think I am going to experiment with a little blue. I have trouble using that color and if I don’t really like what happens there is always the ink to cover it up!

    And I grew up with harvest brown (?) appliances so I know whereof I speak.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 00:54:39

    Your kitchen colors pieces? Uh, I like them. I see Christmas in both and would think the one on the left would be especially nice on the front of a card. The flowers are bright and clean, Ruth. Nice shapes and composition. As you get the feel for this more, do not be afraid to intoduce some other colors into those flowers. Some violet (diox) would work well in both the flower and the greens. Don’t abandon this. You did really nicely with these.

    Reply

  4. ThaColorGray
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 01:36:21

    I love the flowers you created!. Personally I love red 🙂 The way you used the shades of red and pink inside the flowers gives the picture a fresh look. I like the the brush strokes you use as well. Sweet picture!

    Reply

  5. ruthsartwork
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:34:37

    I also had that Christmas tree thought, Leslie. I am just going to let those two sit for a while and then see what I think. Sometimes that helps.

    I plan on experimenting with violets/blues on the flower one later today. Sometimes the hardest thing is the first stroke or two and once I get over that, it is a lot easier. I decided that this week was all experimentation and fun so I wouldn’t scare myself too badly.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:45:57

    Thanks ColorGray. I think it needs some work yet, but overall I am happy with the way it started. It is irrationally hard for me to experiment. Maybe it’s the Virgo in me that just wants everything in order, dammit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

