A very little visitor

Two weeks ago I was walking out the back  to take the pictures of the spreading petunias and I saw this tiny visitor on one of the plastic chairs on my patio.  She was less that 1″ big and the only reason I saw her was that she moved a little when I walked past.  I quickly ducked back into the studio to change lenses from the wide-angle telephoto to the macro.  Fortunately, she cooperated and stayed there until I got back.

A teeny, tiny preying mantis

It was a little bit harder getting the photo, though, because I had to get fairly close to take the picture.  She kept skittering across the top of the chair.  I wanted to get a side shot of her so that it would be clear what she was.  Back and forth across the back of the chair I chased her.  But she didn’t try to jump off or fly away and I finally took enough photos that I felt one would be good enough.  She really was a  pretty green, without the brown from a larger set of wings.

Growing up, I never was afraid of bugs in general.  I found all of nature vastly fascinating.  Once I brought back a full-grown mantis that was over 6″ long from Grandma’s house.  We fed her crickets that we found around the yard.  I’ll spare you the gory details, but it was all quite interesting to me.  The only exception was spiders.  I would run away screaming if I saw one.  Wolf spiders were especially awful.  I’ve gotten better over the years and can tolerate smaller ones these days, but let me just say I don’t go looking for trouble.  The rule stands, outside the house you are safe, inside, no holds barred even if it is John who does the holding.

One of these days I think I am going to sit in the chair that the mantis occupied and try some plen air drawing.  The view is quite lovely and it would be wonderful to relax with my pen and ink or whatever and just play around.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaci
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 17:17:35

    We had one of the 6 inchers on our deck last summer, they really are something! I do like the clear green of the younger ones, though.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 17:40:48

    I am surprised that I even saw this little one. If she hadn’t been on a white plastic chair and moved, I probably never would have.

    Reply

  3. midnightcoiler (lynn)
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 17:52:01

    They are great little guys and a big help in the garden. I didn’t know they flew though. Cute little one!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 19:23:39

    I don’t know when they get wings, but I have seen the bigger adults with them. Don’t know if this little guy had them or not. Too small for my eyes and I can’t tell from the picture.

    Reply

  5. Sheryl
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 20:58:17

    I love the micro things we see when we hold still for a bit. It would, indeed, be lovely to sit and just see what critters come to call, and who emerges from under the leaves. Gotta marvel at the little guys!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 08:25:57

    Yes, I just wish my eyes were a little better at it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

