No berries today – just another finished entryway

I planned to go and pick berries this morning but ended up not doing so. We got about .75″ of rain overnight and it was going to be too sloppy out there. I don’t mind getting a little wet, but these berries are so fragile that if I pick them all soaking, they will tend to crush themselves a little more lying in the picking containers. Can’t have that.

Gothic style entry

I had almost finished the next entryway and decided to do that instead.  I did get to talk to someone knowledgeable about slate tiles and he said the best came out of Vermont.  They tended to last the longest and have the most color variation in them, including some yellows and rusty colors.  He said that the ones that were mostly blue were probably from Pennsylvania.  I don’t know quite what to believe because we put Pennsylvania bluestone on our front porch and though it is predominantly blue, some pieces are almost solid shades of rusty orange.  Who knows?  It’s just really pretty.

I like the choice of the blue/grey trim with the brick and the slate roof and I think that the diamond grids are a better fit than the square colonial grids.  You can now see the recess of the front door a little better and I think it adds a little bit of distinction to the entrance.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 21:57:53

    Another beautiful entryway. This one makes me think of a dwarfs perfect abode. Or Smurfs? Ha! I am not making fun of this entryway but so many of the storybooks I paged through as a child had cottages with this triangular peak above the doorway and dwarfs and gnomes and things like that lived in them…….. Love these entryways!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Progress! And a Mystery
  3. ruthsartwork
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 15:33:52

    Well, Gothic homes used to be considered spooky in the movies so that’s not so far off.

    Reply

  4. Sonya Johnson
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 19:19:36

    This turned out beautifully! I don’t know anything about architecture styles, so it’s always nice to learn something new about that from your blog posts as well :).

    Reply

  5. ruthsartwork
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 19:27:33

    My husband knows more than I do. When I have a question, I ask him. I have learned a lot being married to a timber framer who designs. It’s really how I got interested in architectural dawing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

