Blackberry season interferes with art

At last I have finished the inking of the next drawing. I have had lots of delays not the least of which is the coming of wild black raspberry season. And nothing interferes with raspberry season. I noticed a few getting ripe on the driveway and so I have spent a few morning hours here and there keeping track of how the ripening was going. It has just started to be worthwhile to get up early in the morning and pick this week. Today I spent 2 1/2 hours picking 3 quarts of berries. It may not seem like a lot, but it is. The largest of them are only as big as my first fingernail. Most range closer to my pinkie nail.  Still, the weather was good for picking – cloudy and fairly cool.  It looked like rain but it didn’t so I just kept on picking.  I have been known to pick when the tornado sirens are going off (it’s a county-wide alarm so I wasn’t in danger where I was).  I’d just about have to be in an electrical storm to give it up.  For the next two weeks it’s going to be a toss-up between berries (1st) and computer and art.  Fortunately, there has to be a few days between pickings to let more ripen and I won’t try again until the weekend.  Later in August it will be blackberry season, but that is for another time.

Tudor entry

Anyway, here is the inking of the latest drawing.  It is more Tudor in style with the stucco and beam work over the brick.  I like the steep roof line over the entry.  It must be close to a 20/12 pitch.  I’m glad I didn’t have to put the slate shingles on that!  I also liked the way that the brick was curved in 4 tiers over the doorway.  The door is actually gently recessed from the front of the house perhaps a brick’s worth at each arch.  Not enough to put the door in shadow, but just enough for a little architectural detail.  You’ll be able to see it more clearly with the color.  The sections of angled brick are pretty too.  They will be a little more subtle when I put in the pastels.

I did take some artistic license with the windows however.  Somehow the colonial grids that were there didn’t seem quite right , so I changed them to diamond grids.  That seemed a little more appropriate.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheryl
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:15:01

    I feel like I was right there next to you,, picking berries, too! (and I agree about the window grids to diamonds; repeats the a-frame lines, IMHO). Enjoy the berries!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:25:47

    Hey, I think it is great that you stop for the blackberries, Ruth.
    I so enjoy watching your doorway creations. Your attention to architectural detail is great and I love seeing the drawing and guessing what it will look like in color.

    Reply

  3. Sonya Johnson
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 21:38:56

    Oh, I would be out there picking raspberries right along with you! Three quarts is a LOT of berries, too – yum! Last August, on a hike along the Colorado Trail, I stumbled across ripe raspberry bushes….and ate as many handfuls as I found. Now, I know where and when to go back for more.

    And I completely agree with Leslie about the drawing; can’t wait to see it colored in.

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 22:28:48

    Thanks so much everyone for your comments. I actually worked on it a lot today and should be able to finish up soon, berry picking not withstanding. I hope to get at least a gallon or more yet as this was only he first real picking. Wild black raspberries are great, second only to red raspberries. I got my reds planted last year and I can’t tell if they are going to bear yet, but at least they are still alive.

    Reply

  5. Karen
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 07:49:27

    I’ve been watching the berries here too! Steve and I walk the trail in our neighborhood and there is one spot that has a good patch though I’m afraid to go in there and pick them because of the poison ivy. Years ago I ended up in the emergency room because I got scratched by the thorns and the ivy got into my blood stream. I was a mess!

    I really like this house you are now doing. Not only do I like the steep roof and arch brick but also the 3 curved trim boards that echo and therefore accentuate the doorway arch.

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 11:36:01

    Thanks Karen. The houses in Justin’s neighborhood are so lovely and inspiring. It was fun walking around and taking the pictures in May when we went for his graduation.

    Raspberry season is the best and I don’t let anything get in the way. I’m lucky that poison ivy doesn’t affect me too badly just touching it. I have to touch the roots or break the leaves off to get a a bad case. Found that out the hard way. Must be Dad’s genes since it never bothered him much either. Maybe Steve is okay too. Send him in now that he has time on his hands.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

