Midnight musings 2

Once again I was awake when I was supposed to be sleeping – and once again I was thinking of the gift tags. Plus, this week I didn’t get past the pencil drawing of the newest entryway  for many reasons, not the least of which was an all day road trip Tuesday to Ohio with John. What time I did have, I spent exploring the possibilities of making digital prints of some of my original aceos/gift tags. I chose these mostly because all of the little gift tags already had the ribbon hole punched and I didn’t want to have to work around that. I also selected a few un-inked watercolor blanks.  I really liked the unusual color patterns they had and didn’t think inking would improve them so I put them in as is.  In any case, I scanned a bunch in using my printer scanner and then was actually able to find where they were sent onto my computer. No mean feat for me as this was the first time I had tried to scan with the new printer.

Digital tags

Unfortunately, I wasn’t happy with the print out from my computer. The colors weren’t even close to true when compared with the original. This left the box stores as the only option. I actually thought that this might be the case anyway, given the cost of home printer inks. So I decided to try one box store for a color print out with nine and the other store with a print out of 16. Both actually worked out well and were rather evenly priced so it’s a tossup.  I’ll probably go with the closest store in the future.  I spent the rest of the week cutting out each tag from its sheet from a total of 18 sheets.  Rather mindless work but necessary.  Then I had to punch the hole and insert the ribbon.  I opted to also put a hole reinforcer on this set just to see if I felt it was necessary since I was using 120 lb cardstock.  I may not in the future but I haven’t decided yet.  They actually look pretty nice.  The colors turned out quite vividly and I am pleased with the combinations. 

 So what was I thinking about in my midnight musings?  Probably the hardest decision of all.  Pricing.  I am thinking of selling them as a set of nine, just to make it easy on myself.  I have given myself a day or two to think about it.

Happy Father’s Day to all.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 21:56:43

    They look really nice, Ruth, and I like the idea of selling them as a set of nine, esp. since they are prints. I also know how tedious it is or can be to cut out tons of small pieces from a larger piece…oy!

    This past Thursday, I went to Walmart for the first time ever to have some photos printed out, and I was surprised at how good the quality was! Like you, I have a hard time justifying the expense of a printer and those inks. Easier and cheaper to have a big operation do it :).

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:10:33

    I have taken to having my prints done at Sam’s. There is one hour service and I certainly can’t print up 80 reference photos as cheaply or as well on my little home printer.

    I figure I printed out about 220 tags and have 6-8 hours in the whole process, at least half of which was in the cutting up. Fortunately, I got a little desktop paper cutter very cheaply at a local auction a few years ago and it works just fine. My eyes are actually the biggest problem.

    Reply

  3. Sheryl
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 23:31:12

    Ruth, I think you’re onto something with your tags — they’re really looking great!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:43:47

    Thanks Sheryl. I am having fun doing them as well. They are much less controlled than my architectural work and very freeing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

