Midnight musing

Last night I woke up at about 3 AM and started to think. This is usually not a good thing.  Sometimes, when I get just enough sleep, my mind wakes up enough and I can’t fall back to sleep again. This time I started to think about my online Etsy store.  Yesterday I got the opportunity to participate in an online promotion and I am trying to figure out how to do it.  The number of items required is rather prohibitive for me to supply. 

Mini gift tags

It just takes too much time to make up my originals.  Even the gift tags take more time than anyone would think, if you include making the watercolor sheet, cutting it, drawing, and then punching a hole for the ribbon.  So there I am, awake in the early hours and thinking about how I can resolve this delimna.  It came to me that possibly I could print up some as a contact sheet and then cut them up and sell them as just plain old printed tags instead of originals.  It would take me a little time to work out the details, but maybe it could work.  I guess I’ll have to think about it, preferably not when I am supposed to be sleeping.  And in the spirit of my tags, here are a few more samples.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. midnightcoiler (lynn)
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 15:43:38

    Your original tags are beautiful, but I like your time saving idea.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 18:35:22

    Thanks, Lynn. I haven’t quite decided what to do yet. I need to take some new photos with that specifically in mind and then do some pricing.

    Reply

  3. Patty Harrington
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 18:42:40

    Hi Ruth,

    Do you have a scanner or access to one. Last summer on one of my clinical affiliations there was a women who painted and she scanned her paintings sized them for greeting cards and sold them to raise funds for The Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. The cards in themselves were beautiful pieces art and seemed so simple to reproduce. Good Luck, Patty from Fern Hollow Finds

    Reply

  4. Sheryl
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:21:46

    You’re smart to consider the time involved. Seems like a print would still be attractive to buyers; they probably wouldn’t mind that vs. original. That said, I think your work is terrific!

    Reply

  5. Jaci
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 20:35:55

    I know what you mean about time to make the tags – I include 2 with every purchase and it does take a lot of time to make them, I can’t imagine doing original artwork on them!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 21:58:10

    Thanks for all of the wonderful suggestions. More to think about. We do have a scanner with our printer, Patty,so that is definitely something to consider. I may experiment with that tomorrow. How do you print yours, Jaci?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

