The sun will come out – maybe

We have strung a few nice days together lately  – or at least parts of days,  We have had some  pleasant mornings into the afternoon before the thunderstorms pop up. I am grateful that we haven’t had the terrible storms and tornados that parts of the rest of the country has seen.  I don’t think there is a building code established that will help a structure withstand a direct hit of a tornado.  I have started on the next work, lining it out and beginning a little of the landscaping.  Not enough to show yet.  I did look at some animals to do but wasn’t drawn to anything in particular, so I just went on with the next Ohio entryway.  This one is definitely a Tudor. 

In the meantime I have been keeping a close lookout for this year’s crop of fawns.  They often start to show up about now and I would love to get some pictures this year.  We did see a herd of deer earlier in the week.  I thought it was all does but when I got out the binoculars to get a closer look at least one was a buck with half-grown antlers in velvet.  I think it was the “big guy”.  The antlers were multi-tined and very fat,  Unfortunately, I was on one floor and the camera was on another.  They were crossing the lake at the shallow end, slopping through the water and then quickly moved into the trees, so no picture.  I will keep a lookout now that I have seen them.  I never realized that the antlers started to grow this early and that is going to be quite a set.

Chinese (?) irises in the yard

I have started to pick flowers from the beds to bring into the house again.  All through the year, my husband gets me a small bunch the first of the month as a year round birthday present.  One year when he asked what I wanted as a gift, I said flowers every month.  He just has to go to the grocery store and spend $5-8 on flowers and I am happy.  In the months that I have blooming flowers like my daffodils, irises and peonies, he gets a break.  Otherwise he finds me some nice carnations or daisies that are long lasting and we are both happy. This is a great gift and not too expensive.  I have told this to a few other women I know and everyone thinks it is a great idea.  No one has done as well as my guy though, from what I hear.  Anyway, right now there is the lovely smell of peonies in the kitchen.  They are from my Grandmother’s or my Great-grandmother’s stock and have to be at least 40-50 years old – maybe up to 80 years if Great-grandma planted them in the twenties.  I just don’t know.  They always make me think of Grandma though and that is nice.

Peonies, an iris, and store carnations

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    May 25, 2011 @ 21:12:39

    What a romantic guy you have and a terrific gift idea…
    There is something so special to be living in the “family home” and the part about the peonies brought tears to my eyes.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    May 25, 2011 @ 21:31:51

    Thanks Joy. I think he’s special…. Those peonies have followed me through 3 houses. We originally dug up the root stock in 1990 when my parents sold the “French family homestead” that was inhabited since the 1910’s when Grandma died. I divided up the root stock into 2 plants and they grew at the bottom of the sidewalk leading to the house.

    When we sold that place 6 years ago, I took another piece of rootstock and my sister kept it for a couple of years at her house until we built the new place. When she dug it up, I divided it again into 4 pieces and they all have grown. Last year I gave her back a section for her new house and sent cuttings back with her daughters to NY. Surprisingly, in the midst of the drought last fall, they all survived and I even got regrowth from a 6″ piece of root that was left and I barely covered with dirt. However old it is, it is certainly hardy and has travelled far. I am sure Grandma would love it.

    Reply

  3. JC Strong
    May 26, 2011 @ 14:56:25

    Your care of your flower garden and its origins are such a wonderful tribute to your grandmother. Oh, and your hubby’s monthly gift of flowers is super.

    I don’t know much about deers first hand. I really liked the info. regarding antlers…

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 26, 2011 @ 17:35:35

    Thanks, JC. Since I do most of the shopping and pretty much just buy something when I need it, I often had nothing to say when He would ask about the gift. I am actually quite proud of myself for thinking of it and of him for keeping it up (which is often the case of other wives who have tried it). And I really do like having the flowers around.

    As far as the deer are concerned, I am not that much of an expert. We have quite a large population around here so I am learning a lot just watching them out of the windows. Now if they only would leave my fruit trees alone….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

