Ohio entryway, updated.

Well, it finally stopped raining for a few days, so there was some indoor and outdoor work accomplished. I have gotten most of the annuals planted and have started the arduous task of weeding.  Only a few things left to do, including deciding if we are going to buy some more fruit trees.  We can’t determine if we want to keep planting them in the same spot or start over in an area that we would fence.  Easier to decide now before more things go in.  Since we have had so much damage from the deer it is a very real decision.  You’d think they’d respect that we don’t hunt but they just treat my gardens like a cafeteria line. 

An elegant Ohio enrtyway

Anyway after letting the picture sit a few days, I went back and put on the color. It was fairly quick this time as the picture was smaller than the recent ones and I knew pretty much what I wanted to do. I like the fact that the slate roof wasn’t the standard blue/green/grey tiles.  It is a rosy grey that distinguished it from many of the other slate roofed homes in the area and I think quite lovely.  It fits well with the dark red bricks and limestone accents.  I love the architectural detailing that was put on residences in the early part of the century but is generally unaffordable now except in the most expensive of homes.  I let the picture sit for another day and a half before returning to make some minor adjustments and filled in the time with making some more mini tags. Last weekend I sold nine to a friend to use on her weavings and she also wanted to give a few away to her weaving compatriots. It was nice to see her go though my stack and pick out ones she liked for herself and for some to give away. It is always fun to see someone enjoy your work.

The only hang up was a near disaster with the new picture. I always try to spray the fixative outside and then let it dry out there, leaning face in against the wall for about 15 minutes if I can, because the odor is incredibly noxious. My husband had been working on the lawn outside and then started started spraying some bug spray at the various door lintels.  I saw him out of the corner of my eye and ran to my door yelling STOP.  Fortunately I caught him before he got to my inward facing artboard and no damage was done.  He was contrite, but my heart stopped beating there for a second.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    May 22, 2011 @ 11:33:00

    Lovely doorway, once again, Ruth. This reminds me of some of the homes in an old neighborhood we have here. Good fortune that youcaught your husband before he de-bugged it! 🙂

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    May 22, 2011 @ 12:22:31

    Yes, it was. This home came from my son’s neighborhood in an historic area of his city. We walked around for about 1.5 hours talking and taking photos.

    Reply

  3. Sonya Johnson
    May 22, 2011 @ 12:36:18

    Love it, Ruth! This building in particular has a very cosy feel about it, probably because of the composition and the foliage surrounding it.

    Glad the near disaster with the insect spray was averted ;).

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 22, 2011 @ 16:22:43

    Yes, the doorway seems more intimate that some of the previous entries, but I assure you the house was pretty big and long.

    Reply

  5. Sheryl
    May 22, 2011 @ 19:33:36

    I just love the new piece. i share your thoughts on the wonderful architectural detail from the early 20th century. It really helps create a home’s character. Your new one really shows nice color and depth… very nice!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    May 22, 2011 @ 20:41:03

    Thanks. I managed to sort out a half a dozen pictures of some nice neo-gothics and Tudors from the trip and feel pretty good about lining up the next work. I tried playing with some aceos for a change today but was uninspired to keep it up. Time perhaps for a couple of black and white animal pictures in the down time of the next entryway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

