Working inside, when the outside is too wet

I’ve been working some on my latest entryway picture. The weather only cleared up today so I have been stuck in the house, unable to plant what I had bought last Friday. This is posted late today because I could finally get out and put the wave petunias in the ground before the rabbits got to them.. Don’t know why, but last year they were eaten in the flats.  I didn’t have a problem once they were planted. Crazy rabbits to go along with the crazy robins, I guess.

Indiana Entryway

In the down time, I have been working on the mini tags.  I punched a few holes and tied a few ribbons today before I took some pictures in the fading light.  There was just enough to give at least the flavor of what they will be like.  They are half the size of the aceo cards and I hope will work well as straight gift tags or artist labels – which someone  had requested of me.  They are just as much fun as making the aceos.  Unfortunately, they take almost as much time.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Mini tags/artist labels I

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Mini tags/artist labels II

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sonya Johnson
    May 04, 2011 @ 22:24:15

    Another nice painting in your entryway series, Ruth! I really like looking at the different lines and textures created with the pen marks, and the monochromatic palette.

    When we lived in CT, I saw the occasional rabbit, but the deer were the real problems with our garden – they cleaned out an entire season’s worth of tomatoes overnight the last year we had a garden. And, I’ve seen them in people’s yards here Durango, boldly eating away at their flowers and shrubs during the middle of the day. It’s crazy!

    Oh, and the tags are great, and I’m not surprised they take as long to create as an ACEO ;).

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    May 05, 2011 @ 07:45:18

    This is the first place where the wildlife has bothered us so much. We had deer kill about 30 trees in our orchard. We have started to replant and are putting a wire cage around the trees to see if that helps until they are bigger. The rabbits like to mow down the flowers too. Not eat them mind you, but cut off the stems at ground level and let them lie.
    The real kicker was the squirrel that killed John’s truck. For some reason, one of them decided to chew on the wiring and gas lines underneath both my caravan and his Ram truck. We sold the van after about $1000 worth of damage. John’s truck burst into flames at the bottom of the drive and was totaled. Think of the Bagdad road where all of the trucks were burned out and you get the picture. Needless to say, our newer vehicles are now garaged and unfortunately, after that, it was open season on the squirrels for a while. They hit the allowable limit after destroying $10,000 worth of vehicles. We were thinking of upgrading after 10 years but really. Still we wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.

    Glad you like the entryways. I am having fun with it. sometimes I have a hard time choosing what to do and it helps to have a theme for a while.

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    May 05, 2011 @ 09:55:52

    I am enjoying these entryway pictures immensely, Ruth.
    Your tags are gorgeous and the perfect size. Hope you are enjoying some rain-free time to get your planting done!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    May 05, 2011 @ 16:50:26

    Thanks Leslie. I’m having some fun too. We had some frost overnight, but my new plants survived fortunately.

    Reply

  5. artsy ant simona
    May 09, 2011 @ 23:02:37

    hi ruth, i found your blog through the etsy forum. great artwork, i especially love your little tags, they’re too cute!

    Reply

  6. ruthsartwork
    May 10, 2011 @ 10:12:32

    Simona, Thanks for visiting. It’s always nice to meet someone new. I have found the tags fun to do in the down time of a larger work. The work is also so different that is helps loosen me up after the tighter architecturals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

