Crazy rains continue, but we stay high and dry

Southern Entry 2

It’s still raining here. I can’t say how much we have gotten in the last week, but it has got to be 6-8″ by now. Fortunately, we are up on a large hill and if we flooded there would be need of an ark. It is supposed to stop for a few days.  I hope that those people so badly affected by all of the water will have a chance to dry out a little.
After the kids left on Sunday, I did spend time in the studio and finished my second entryway drawing. And lo and behold, the rain stopped and the sun came out long enough to take some decent photos.  Here is the result.  I may fiddle around with the pen and add a little more inking later in the week, but it looks fairly done for now.  I especially like the maroon door.  Its vivid hue livens up the brown brick facade.  (And besides, my own door is almost the same color).  Those sconces ar pretty spectacular too.  Given the size of the door, I bet that they are close to five feet long.
I used the pastels for basic coloring  and shadowed some with the colored pencils.  I have lined out the next drawing and may get to start inking later today.  I picked out two more entryways to do so it will be easy to keep the work flowing for a while.  Sometimes I spend as much time deciding what to do as I do drawing.  I am enjoying having a theme to work with for a while.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 10:24:35

    Another beautiful entryway, Ruth! I want to walk right up to that door and visit the imaginary friend that has invited me over for a cup of coffee! 🙂 Rich red door color!

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 12:55:54

    I do like that red. My own front door is similarly colored. Probably that is why I like it, even though I took the reference photo years ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

