Crazy robins, crazy rains

The lake filled up

Attack robin

The studio work has gone moderately well this week. I have almost 90% of the color finished on my picture and I have decided to let it rest a while. There is company in the house and I am enjoying the busy times. We have had a lot of rain in the last several days – probably over 4″ so far. The lake has filled up to the pipe overflow and I hope not very many fish end up going overboard and out. They are finally getting to be big enough to catch. There are predictions of up to 6″ more rain possible and there are already flood alerts statewide. The winter snowfalls seem to have stayed on in the form of rain. It is a far cry from last summer/fall drought.

I did manage to finish planting all of the vinca I had on the slope next to the parking area. I saw the forecast of another week of heavy rain possible and just wanted to get it all in the ground. The wildlife has been abundant in the lushness of spring. We have seen a lot of deer as usual, multitudes of hawks, and squirrels and the turkey have begun to move about. No pictures yet but I am trying. We have seen several species of ducks on the pond including a pair of mallards. 

There has also been a delusional robin pecking at all of the windows around the house lately.  He goes from window to window attacking his adversary to no avail.  I have tried for the last three days to get a picture of him, but he does seem to know that we in the house are a bigger threat and I have had a hard time sneaking up for a picture.  I finally got one and even as I type now I can hear him banging on the door below after I scared him off of the office window where I am.  It would not be so bad but he is marking up all the windows and pooping on the deck in his zeal to drive off his rival.  I guess that there is a reason for the phrase “bird-brained”.  And excuse the photo placement.  For some reason wordpress is not letting me place the pictures where I want to and just dumping them at the front no matter what I do.  Aaack.  I’m tired of fighting it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 00:24:09

    I had this problem with a robin year before last and ended up covering my front and back windows with newspaper for awhile. I felt sorry for him/her. He actually bloodied himself. Someone told me he saw his reflection and was warding the other bird off from his brood and territory. Hope yours gets the idea and does not injure himself/herself.

    Reply

  2. ruthsartwork
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 14:12:13

    I’ve had it with cardinals before, but not with a robin. It is a territorial thing and he flies at so many windows that it is not practical to cover them. And he already is at windows that are curtained. Bird brained indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

